3 Fruits, 3 Recipes

So, today ended up being a really eventful day, in that I tried out three new recipes. One was from a random blog comment, one was from Sunny Anderson (Cooking for Real) and the last from my favorite, Giada DeLaurentiis (Everyday Italian). Hopefully one of these days I’ll start making my own recipes for a change, however I don’t see that happening until the summer, when I have 3 glorious months of nothing to worry about but what to do with all of my free time. Anyways…

My first fruit dish isn’t really a recipe, just something I found on a comment – a sandwich, consisting of apple slices, peanut butter and…turkey? Yes, and it all works really well together too, however I didn’t actually try it between two bread slices…I just wanted a snack, so I cut an apple in half, then topped it with peanut butter and turkey. Apples and peanut butter are already a classic combo, but the turkey makes it savory.

In my version of the sandwich, I used those 100 calorie thin wheat buns (I toasted both sides), 2 slices of turkey, a drizzle of honey, 2 teaspoons of peanut butter, pinch of cinnamon, and about 6 thin slices of a Gala apple. It was nice, but the flavors didn’t really tie in together for me…if I make it again, I’ll try making the apple slices a little thicker – I didn’t really taste them in the sandwich. Bacon would also be a good substitute for the turkey. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take a picture, so use your imagination!

So, I guess for a formal recipe:

Savory Grilled Peanut Butter, Apple and Turkey Sandwich

– Two slices of sandwich bread
– 2 slices of turkey
– 1/2 of an apple, thinly sliced (I’m thinking 5 or 6 slices)
– Slice of cheese (Provolone for now, until I can try out something different)
– 1 tsp of honey
– 1 tbsp of peanut butter

Okay, the second fruit dish of the day was a fruit salad I saw on Cooking for Real. It kind of reminded me of a Waldorf Salad, except way healthier. Here’s the recipe:

(Slightly Altered) Apple, Pear and Walnut Salad, by Sunny Anderson

– 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
– 2 tbsp orange juice
– orange zest
– 1/4 cup of raisins
– 1 apple (I used Gala)
– 1 pear(I used a Green Pear)
– 1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
(These next four ingredients are the slightly altered part)
– 1 tsp sugar
– One good drizzle of honey
– Two shakes of cinnamon
– Handful of bacon (I’m sure real bacon would be preferable, but I used Bacon Bits)

This salad was absolutely delicious, and tastes even better after letting it soak for a few minutes. I started off by pouring the red wine vinegar in the tupperware, followed by the raisins to let them soak. Then I added the rest of the ingredients…I decided last minute to add the honey, sugar, cinnamon and bacon, and I’m really glad that I did. After adding all of the ingredients, I put the top on the tupperware and tossed the salad that way. The red wine vinegar’s tartness was perfectly balanced out by the orange juice, and the orange zest kind of permeated the rest of the salad, giving it a fresh aftertaste. I think the honey made a nice touch by sweetening up the vinaigrette, and the bacon gave a nice, salty bite. This is definitely one of those dishes where each bite should have a little bit of everything. The cinnamon also came through on each bite, but if you’re not a big fan of cinnamon, I would leave it out. I added some sliced mozzarella cheese on top, but I think I’ll leave that out next time. Fake/processed cheese doesn’t really belong with the freshness of this delicious salad.

The last fruit dish was this really tasty pineapple dish from Giada DeLaurentiis. It’s one of those dishes that would be really great in the summer as a light dessert, but is also great for the winter since most fruits are out of season. On a side note, this would also be really great with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top.

Sauteed Pineapple with Honey and Pine Nuts

– 1 cup cubed pineapple (I used canned pineapple – if you do, strain the pineapple and dry them off with a paper towel before cooking them.)
– 1 tbsp butter
– 2 tbsp honey
– 2 tbsp toasted pinenuts (Pine nuts are expensive for a poor college student, so I used leftover sliced almonds from the Cherry Almond cookies.)
– 1 tsp rum (My parents don’t drink rum, and I am underage, thus I omitted this…I don’t think it made much of a difference.)
– 2 tbsp mascrapone cheese (Didn’t have this either…)
(My additions)
– Pinch of cinnamon (Gives it some warmth)
– 1 tsp (more or less) sugar (Even more sweetness)

In a saute pan, I melted the butter on medium high heat and allowed it to brown a bit before dumping in the pineapple chunks. Then I added the honey…I didn’t measure out 2 tablespoons – I just squeezed a good looking amount straight out of the bottle onto the pineapple. I let it all cook for 5 minutes, then added the nuts, as well as a pinch of both cinnamon and sugar. The pineapple almost melts in your mouth, and it really marries well with the butter and the honey. The nuts give a nice crunch and some needed texture. Surprisingly, both my mom and my dad liked this, which is weird, considering my dad doesn’t really do desserts/fruit and my mom doesn’t really have a wide taste range. My sister, on the other hand, couldn’t deal with the texture of the pineapple and almost gagged the stuff after taking 3 minutes to swallow it. Great mental image, right? No picture of this either, but it is definitely a keeper, and something I’ll make for my roommates at school.

One thought on “3 Fruits, 3 Recipes

Leave a Reply

