Review of Christmas, Food-wise

My Christmas was excellent, and I hope yours was as well. I tried a few new things between December 24 – 26 that I wanted to make note of…

First, the two cookies from my Holiday Cookies post were generally well-received, especially the Cherry Almond Cookies. I think the appearance of the Rugelach was kind of a turn off for most people. They were difficult to assemble, so most were pretty ugly looking. Anyways, I skipped the Rugelach for Christmas with my dad’s side of the family, but I baked off the rest of the Cherry Almond Cookies and my grandpa inhaled 3 immediately after I showed him the cookies. My grandparents were especially into the fact that those cookies were not “overly sweet” and were a tad bit healthier than most cookies.

At said grandparents house, it is tradition to eat Yorkshire pudding, rutabaga, roast, mashed potatoes, etc. In previous years, I never really got into the Yorkshire pudding and the rutabaga was always some foreign object that I never touched, mostly because it’s the one vegetable my dad will NOT eat. This year however, my taste buds continued to surprise me with their evolution. The Yorkshire Pudding is still pretty bland (as most traditional English dishes are), but when topped with gravy, this “pudding” was really excellent. I mean, it’s still tasted like flour + egg, but the texture (which is kind of rubbery…I’m really not making this sound appealing) was really good.

Yeah, I can’t really sell you on Yorkshire pudding over text – you just have to try it.

The rutabaga, however, is one seriously misunderstood vegetable. I have no idea what my grandmother added to it, but it was mashed, giving it the consistency of mashed sweet potatoes. It’s taste was kind of a cross between squash and sweet potatoes – I thought it was really good. I’m not sure why my dad has such an intense hatred for it…

For dessert, my aunt always brings leftover goodies from her Christmas morning brunch. This year, she brought a delicious red velvet cake, some gingersnap cookies (courtesy of The Pioneer Woman), Mexican Wedding Cookies, and apple pie. My favorite was definitely the cake, but the wedding cookies were also really good. I had never tried them before – I definitely almost choked after inhaling the top layer of powdered sugar, but the cookie itself is very airy, yet it also melts in your mouth. I’ll probably try to make some myself around Mother’s Day, since my mom scarfed at least 4 of them.

I also received 2 new cookbooks – one from Ellie Krieger (I think it’s called So Easy) and one from The Pioneer Woman. Polar opposites, as far as nutrition goes, but very similar in great recipes for me to try out over the coming months.

2 thoughts on “Review of Christmas, Food-wise

  1. rutabaga – so easy to make…Oct – Feb…best time to buy them. Peel the outer layer…it is a little hard to cut, but cut into cubes and boil in water with a little sugar (1 – 1 1/2 tbsp) and salt…when soft, drain off water, add butter and mash with a potato masher…yummy! Don't know why your dad harbors such a bitter hatred for this sweet root veggietry turnip root too…I pick out 4 – 5 smallish (tennis ball size)…peel outside layer…cut into sugar cube size cubes and boil in water…a littler sugar here too…drain off water and add butter…delishI will send you the wedding cookie recipe…so so easy…AND, it is one of your mom's favs

  2. rutabaga – so easy to make…Oct – Feb…best time to buy them. Peel the outer layer…it is a little hard to cut, but cut into cubes and boil in water with a little sugar (1 – 1 1/2 tbsp) and salt…when soft, drain off water, add butter and mash with a potato masher…yummy! Don't know why your dad harbors such a bitter hatred for this sweet root veggietry turnip root too…I pick out 4 – 5 smallish (tennis ball size)…peel outside layer…cut into sugar cube size cubes and boil in water…a littler sugar here too…drain off water and add butter…delishI will send you the wedding cookie recipe…so so easy…AND, it is one of your mom's favs

Leave a Reply

