Rice Oatmeal/Pudding

So right now, I’m eating a seriously delicious bowl of rice oatmeal (or pudding, not sure how one would classify it). It’s probably not the healthiest breakfast out there, but it’s obnoxiously filling – you don’t have to eat much more than 1/2 a cup of cooked rice to feel really full. I’ve seen versions where you mix an egg with the rice, then simmer the mixture in milk, but this recipe from Tastykitchens.com left the egg out, and I think it tastes better that way – it gives it an oatmeal consistency.

I think using an egg would make it more of a pudding…yeah, I’ll go with that.

It’s really easy to make, and it’s great if you use leftover rice, which is what I did. The rice is semi-dried out if it’s from the day before and I think that makes it easier to cook in the milk. Anyways, here’s the recipe, adapted from Tasty Kitchen:

– 1 cup of cooked rice (I had a little less, about 3/4 of a cup)
– 1 1/2 cups milk
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp vanilla
– 3 tbsp raisins ((Or cranberries, apricots, various nuts, etc.)
– 3 tbsp sugar
– 1/2 tsp butter
– 1 tsp maple syrup ((Or honey, that agave nectar stuff…you really don’t have to add this part, it’s just an optional topping)

All you do is dump the rice and the milk into a small sauce pan. If your rice is clumpy like mine was, stir the mixture around a bit. Next, add the cinnamon, vanilla and raisins. Technically you could add those three at the end, but I think it permeates the rice if you let it cook together. The raisins also get re-hydrated, which makes them verrrry tasty. Bring the mixture up to a boil on medium heat, then cover it and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the rice has absorbed most of the milk.

Just a warning, however: The milk will probably boil up…it kind of made me freak for a second, but all was right in the world after I stirred the rice around a bit.

Once the rice has an oatmeal-like consistency, add the butter (only if you want it, but it does make it even creamier…) and mix 2 tablespoons of sugar into the rice, but just sprinkle the last tablespoon on the top. The sugar gives it a nice crunchy topping that’s really delicious. I also added a decorative drizzle of maple syrup on top, but you don’t have to do that.

A year ago, I would have said this dish sounded disgusting. I’m so glad my stomach and taste buds have opened themselves up to new dishes like this. No picture, but definitely go make it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

