It’s no secret that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, or at least right now. There’s so much to experiment with, especially since two of my main food obsessions right now are old fashioned oats and eggs.

This morning though, I decided to make french toast. Fancy french toast.

It’s actually not that fancy, but it was different from your typical french toast breakfast: Blueberry and Cream Cheese French Toast Sandwiches. I found it on tastykitchen.com and although mine didn’t turn out as pretty as the pictures on tastykitchen, I’m sure mine was just as delicious. The tangy cream cheese goes perfectly with the sweet syrup and blueberry preserves, and the lemon zest/juice I substituted in for orange zest/juice is a must; it gives the french toast a hint of freshness.

I cut the recipe down from 4 servings to 1. I eyeballed most of it, but I think these measurements are about right…

Blueberry and Cream Cheese French Toast Sandwich(es)
Serves 1

– 2 slices of bread (my bread slices were really big, so I cut them in half instead of keeping it as one huge sandwich)
– 1 tbsp cream cheese
– 1 tbsp blueberry preserves (or any other flavor preserve you have a soft spot for)
– 1 egg
– 2 tbsp milk
– dash of cinnamon
– 1/2 lemon, zested and juiced
– dash of vanilla extract
– 1 tsp sugar
– 1 tsp butter

Since I cut my sandwich in half, I tried two different cooking methods: in a skillet and on the George Foreman Grill. The grill works in a pinch, but it just looks more like french toast when you cook it in a skillet…plus a lot of the egg mixture drained off in the George Foreman, so it ended up being more like a panini.

First, spread the cream cheese on one slice and the preserves on the other. Heat a skillet on medium heat and melt the butter in the skillet. While the pan is heating up, mix the egg, vanilla, lemon zest/juice, sugar and cinnamon in a shallow bowl. Dredge each side of both the sandwiches, allowing each side to sit for a few seconds to really absorb the mixture. I even added some more cinnamon to the tops of the sandwich after dredging them, just because I love cinnamon that much.

I did my sandwiches in shifts, one half at a time. Once the butter starts to bubble, lay the sandwich down and let it cook for 3-4 minutes, then flip and let it cook for another 3 to 4 minutes. Repeat with the other sandwich half.

Plate the sandwiches, and top with syrup and powdered sugar (I wish I had some..). As you can see in the picture above, I completely drowned mine and syrup, and it was heavenly. The filling oozes together, and it had that nice cinnamon/eggy softness that makes french toast so delicious.

Please try this. The end.

PS – Sorry for the awkward lighting – it was early in the morning and very overcast. Ick.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I never eat breakfast I was never a fan of eating so early in the morning but Im going to have to try it sometime for dinner. Looks great.Sincerely from San Diego

Leave a Reply

