my go-to…breakfasts

Instead of talking about a particular recipe, I thought I’d start a new category called “my go-to’s,” beginning with my favorite breakfasts.

1. English muffin sandwich
– Stick an English muffin under a broiler while either frying up a slice of bacon or sticking it in the microwave. Once the muffin starts to brown, turn off the oven and stick the cheese slice on top so it can melt. For the egg, either fry it up in a pan or you can crack it into a taller coffee mug and put it in the microwave for 1-1.5 minutes. make sure to put a plate on top of the mug, or the egg will pop out of the cup. I prefer frying the egg, only because the sound of the egg popping up in the mug is kind of alarming to hear.

2. Oatmeal
– Not instant oatmeal, but old fashioned oats oatmeal. It’s SO delicious, but I feel like an old grandma raving about oatmeal. Bring a cup of water to a boil in a saucepan, then dump in 1/2 cup of oats. Add a dash of cinnamon, 2-3 tablespoons of raisins, 1 tsp. brown sugar and some apple slices (I don’t add the apple all the time, but it’s pretty tasty on occasion). Let the oats cook for about 5 minutes, until the water is absorbed. Pour the oats into a bowl and pour about 1/4 cup milk on top. I always like to drizzle some maple syrup over the top for some extra sweetness. My favorite part is getting a few raisins in every spoonful…they get rehydrated while cooking, making them really plump.

3. Waffle Sandwich
– Soo many options here. Two waffles + ….Peanut Butter, PB&J, Nutella, PB&Bananas, Nutella and strawberry slices. Or you could just eat it the regular way, with syrup. Lots of syrup.

4. Hot Granola
– Now that I think about it, this is kind of like oatmeal, but to me, oatmeal is oatmeal. Not “hot cereal.” This granola stuff, however, is this mystical “hot cereal.” Take 1/4 cup of granola (doesn’t sound like a lot, but somehow still really filling), 1/4 cup of milk, 2 tbsp raisins (and/or cranberries, dried apricots, etc.) and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds. It is still kind of crunchy, which makes it different from oatmeal. Plus the granola I make/buy is always honey almond flavor, so it’s also going to have almond slivers too. Yum.

5. Banana and Peanut Butter Panini
– Elvis’s favorite, according to my latest Food Network Magazine. This is obviously a lot like one of the options for the waffle sandwiches, but when you cook the peanut butter and bananas with the bread, everything melds together and becomes nice and gooey. I’m also into the grill marks the George Foreman leaves on them. Just slather some peanut butter on one side (or both) and slice the banana into coins. A glass of milk is required with this breakfast.

6. Cottage Cheese and Preserves Sandwich
– I had this for the first time this morning, but I have a feeling it will become a part of my regular breakfast choice lineup. I don’t know how repulsive this combo will seem to the general public…I have yet to find anyone else who likes cottage cheese, except for my dad. Anyways, toast two slices of bread, then spread your favorite preserve on one side (blueberry preserve was delicious) and cottage cheese on the other. The preserves really balanced out the slight tangy-ness of the cottage cheese; for some reason, sweet always goes well with cottage cheese, at least in my book.

And speaking of breakfasts, please go look at this blog for some really beautiful breakfast pictures: http://simplybreakfast.blogspot.com

3 thoughts on “my go-to…breakfasts

  1. I'm not even lying – we are totally breakfast soul mates. (Aside from the cottage cheese thing , which I have nothing against, I've just never really gotten to try it. I may need to pick some up. But seriously, everything else.) I make english muffin sandwiches…like… every other day. My current favorite is a multigrain english muffin toasted with an over easy egg, melted swiss, garlic powder and a handful of baby spinach. Eat it with a sliced apple or pear and you've got every food group!

  2. Finally, some one who sees the awesomeness that is breakfast! Your egg sandwich sounds delicious! My favorite part of english muffin sandwiches is when the yolk breaks…then I mop it up with the english muffin..heaven.I love cottage cheese, but I'm starting to think it's like cilantro – you either like it or you don't. I eat it straight out of the carton thing.

  3. I LOVE CILANTROOOOOOOOOOOOO – I go absolutely cilantro crazy when I make any salsa or guacamole. Luckily no one in my life (or at least that I've cooked for) doesn't like it or else I'd cry. I really need to try cottage cheese now though. But seriously, breakfast isn't just the most important meal of the day, it's the most delicious oneeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

