I’ve never really understood why some people hate vegetables; even as a kid, I was a pretty good vegetable eater (I hated onions, though. So sad.). Now that I eat anything that’s put in front of me, vegetables are a constant source of new food discoveries, whether it’s through a new vegetable combination or just trying out a new vegetable (ie, kale and rutabaga). This recipe was a side to Kayla’s apricot chicken (very tasty, a combo of apricot preserves and curry powder) and combined some of my favorite vegetables: mushrooms, onions and green beans. It came from one of my Everyday Italian cookbooks and is really easy to make, not to mention really cheap. Some of Giada’s recipes tend to get a little expensive, but this one takes really common ingredients and turns them into a fancy side dish.

Spicy Parmesan Green Beans and Kale
from Giada’s Kitchen
6-8 servings

– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 1 onion, sliced
– 1/4 lb. cremini mushrooms (I used plain mushrooms. Cremini mushrooms are too fancy for Walmart)
– 1 lb green beans, trimmed and cut in half
– salt and pepper, to taste
– 1/4 cup dry white wine
– 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes ((i toned this down to a pinch)
– 1 bunch kale, leaves ripped from stems and coarsely chopped
– 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
– 3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

I also added a garlic clove.

Heat up the olive oil in a pan, the add in the onions, some salt and pepper. Let them cook for 5-7 minutes, until they start to become translucent. Then add the green beans and mushrooms. I actually cooked my mushrooms separately to make sure they could cook well. All I did was melt 1 tbsp butter, then add the mushrooms and let them cook for about 10 minutes until they turn brown.

I let this mixture cook for 10 minutes, until the green beans started to soften. Since the green beans were fresh, they stayed crunchier than canned green beans (duh, Sara). Next, add in the red pepper flakes and the kale. I added the kale in three batches to help them wilt easier – if I had piled them all in at once, it would have taken MUCH longer for the leaves to wilt. That took another 3ish minutes. Finally, add the Parmesan cheese and serve!

I plan on making this for my grandma’s birthday dinner on Saturday, although I think I’ll substitute baby spinach for the kale – Shelley wasn’t too crazy about it and I think the majority of the bunch will like it better with a more familiar leafy green.

3 thoughts on “

  1. OH! how i love your blog!i'm already ready to get a bijillion ideas of things to make. i'm in a rut where i only eat baked goods and veggies need to get back into my life asap!those look SO DELISH! and from Giada {i love her!}

Leave a Reply

