Okay, so making bread is definitely a lot easier when you have a good oven. You all probably think I’m using the “crappy oven” excuse whenever something goes wrong when I’m cooking, but most of the time, it’s really the oven.

Oven = Bane of my Existence.

Anyways, I was excited to break out my NEW stand-up mixer and it was as glorious as I imagined it. I felt like Barefoot Contessa, just plopping flour and eggs right into the bowl and letting it mix by itself while I did other things. After I finally mixed the batter (which tasted really great, by the way), I eagerly poured it into my (new) loafpan and plopped it into my oven, making sure it was set at 350 degrees.

Mistake one: Make sure the oven switch is ON.

I had just finished making granola, and for some reason I decided that it would be wise to turn the oven off while I mixed my batter. So when I went to go check on my bread an hour later, I was extremely alarmed to find a loaf pan full of goop.

Then I saw the oven switch. So. Stupid.

Anyways, I left the batter to do its thing for another hour and was excited to see the top all brown and glorious looking. Ironically, I decided that the completion of my first loaf of quick bread called for a photo-op. This is the result:

After this picture, I meticulously started cutting the loaf into twelve slices; halfway through, however, I realized that the batter was still….goop. So I gave the bread another twenty minutes, this time on 375.

Still goop.

At this point, I was typing the first portion of this post. After another twenty minutes of baking upside down, the bread finally baked through.

Result? I liked it. I’ve never had quick bread like this, but I imagine they’re all a little denser than sandwich bread. The banana flavor came through more than I expected – it didn’t taste that strong when I tasted the batter. The crust was nice and crunchy, and also sweet thanks to the cinnamon sugar I sprinkled on top right before sticking it in the oven (the first time).

My favorite part of the bread is how easily you can adapt it to healthier ingredients – for example, I used applesauce for the oil in the recipe. I think for breads, muffins and some cakes applesauce works fine instead of oil. Definitely not for cookies, though. Anyways, here’s the recipe (from Tasty Kitchen):

⅓ cups Neutral Oil
½ cups White Sugar
½ cups Brown Sugar, Packed
¼ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
2 Eggs
1-½ cup Ripe Bananas, Mashed
¾ cups All Purpose White Flour
¾ cups Whole Wheat Flour
1-¼ teaspoon Baking Soda
¼ teaspoons Salt
½ teaspoons Cinnamon
¼ teaspoons Nutmeg
⅔ cups Quick Cooking Oats
1 cup Blueberries (either Fresh Or Frozen)(Frozen for meeee)
½ cups Pecans, Toasted And Chopped (you Can Also Use Walnuts) (I didn’t use any)

Preheat the oven to 350. Cream the butter and the sugars together, then add the eggs in one at a time, mixing well between each. Then add in the vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt) and mix well. Then add the oats and blueberries (and nuts if you so choose). Mix in all the dry ingredients with the wet, only mixing enough to where everything is incorporated. Pour into a (greased) loaf pan (the recipe also says you can pour them into muffin tins, which is what I’ll do if I make these again) and bake for 50-55 minutes (or 20-25 if you’re doing muffins). Let the bread cool after baking, then slice into 12 pieces.

This bread is really good with breakfast – I especially love seeing the blueberry spots in the bread.

2 thoughts on “

  1. i'm drooling over this bread!! it looks so incredible!!! and such a funny story too! my oven is the same exact way! i used to put things in the oven and it wasn't even turned on!! i feel like if i change the temp then it should automatically turn on!! haha!

Leave a Reply

