Eggs and I are bff. We hang out three or four days a week, mostly catching up over a tasty meal. At first, we only liked seeing each other over breakfast, but after seeing the true beauty of eggs (fried, scrambled, omelet-style, breakfast burrito, etc), we began having lunch and dinner dates as well. I love having eggs over for dinner on nights when both my roommates are gone – we love to experiment with new add-ins. Last week, Shelley went home for the night and Kayla went out for dinner with Justin, so I decided to try something a little different with eggs, and the result was delicious.

Okay, I’m going to stop personifying eggs/acting like a loser now. A few months ago, the girls from Big Girls Small Kitchen posted a scrambled egg dish with Gouda, caramelized onion and arugula. For some reason, this post popped into my mind during class (I think about food a lot nowadays) and I spent the remainder of the day deciding how to work this recipe into my dinner. I started off sauteing a vidalia onion in some olive oil, along with half of a red bell pepper and half of a summer squash (basically random vegetables in my fridge). I added some garlic, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to the vegetables and let them soften for about 10-15 minutes.

After putting the cooked veggies in a separate bowl, I beat two eggs and an egg white with a mix of cheddar and Romano cheese (I have no idea if that’s a blasphemous combination of cheese…I’m not really knowledgeable about the fine inner-workings of the varieties of cheeses. I am a college student, and if it doesn’t come pre-shredded in a bag, cheese is expensive. The cheddar cheese, however, was in block form.) with a splash of milk.

I scrambled the eggs on medium low – I learned from Barefoot Contessa that the proper way to scramble eggs is nice and slow so they retain moisture. I used to scramble my eggs on medium high-high.

So many blasphemies.

Anyways, once the eggs started to set, I mixed in some baby spinach leaves (as much as I’d like to be, I’m not a big fan of arugula’s lemon-y pepperness). After the eggs finished scrambling, I ceremoniously dumped them on top of my mixed vegetables. Then I devoured it.

To me, you can’t really go wrong with cheese eggs on top of sauteed vegetables, but the Romano cheese really added a nice bite to the eggs. I’m also pretty sure halfway caramelized onions and eggs were made for each other. The spinach made the whole meal look fancy – I always love adding spinach into dishes just to see the gorgeous green color.

So yeah, eggs and I had a nice night together. I’m hoping for a repeat sometime this week..

Scrambled Eggs with Spinach, Cheddar and Romano over Sauteed Vegetables
Adapted from Scrambled Eggs with Caramelized Onion, Arugula, and Smoked Gouda by BGSK

– 2 eggs
– 1 egg white
– 1/2 red (or any color) bell pepper, cut into chunks
– 1/2 summer squash, cut into half coins (or zucchini – whatever you have on hand)
– 1/2 vidalia onion, sliced
– 2 tablespoons shredded cheddar cheese
– 2 tablespoons shredded Romano cheese
– 1 garlic clove, minced
– 1 splash of milk
– 1 pinch red pepper flakes
– salt and pepper, to taste
– 1 tbsp olive oil
– 1 cup baby spinach

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

