APPLES APPLES APPLES!!

I feel like an apple nerd. All I do is post about apples. And today I have two apples to discuss. Actually three.

1. Macintosh apple
Okay, on a side note, I just realized/connected that Apple’s Mac computers = Macintosh Apple. STUUUUUPID!
Uh, anyways, I had one on Tuesday. I could have sworn I had already eaten one during this experiment, but after biting into it, I realized there was no way I would have forgotten that super-awesome POP it makes when you bite into it. Some apples crunch, but this one pops – the skin is very….stretched? I don’t know how to describe it. The actual apple part doesn’t have as much flavor as other apples, but it’s much softer, almost like biting into an unripe peach. Sort of. It’s not mealy, it’s just soft. Overall, it was tasty, but not as good as the Fuji.

2. Golden Delicious
I’ve had these MANY times before, but I haven’t posted on it yet. Last year, I LOVED Golden Delicious apples. This year, or at least lately, I haven’t been as impressed with them – most of the ones I’ve eaten lately are still halfway Granny Smith-ish, not nearly as sweet as the ones from last year. The great thing about Golden Delicious apples is that they always seem to be HUGE and the skin is perfect – not too waxy, not too chewy.

3. Red Delicious
Red Delicious apples are always what I picture in my head when apples are mentioned. I love the color of them (although today my Red Delicious was almost black – I felt like Snow White or something, eating a poisoned apple from the evil Athens Transit ladies handing out free breakfast at the bus stop), but they have the waxiest skin. It’s annoying because I finish chewing the apple part long before I finish chewing the skin, yuck. The apple part is definitely the sweetest of all of the apples I’ve had so far, almost in a candy-like way.

Now, on to a DELICIOUS dinner recipe! I don’t know about you guys, but when I first read a recipe on Tasty Kitchen for Shrimp and Grits, I thought it was a REALLY weird concept. I mean, I’m relatively new to eating grits, especially for someone who has lived in the South for the vast majority of her life (all I really needed were CHEESE grits). The picture of the dish was too awesome/cool looking to ignore though, so I decided to make it for Kayla and myself. It’s a really easy recipe, and if you cook the sauce part right, it has TONS of flavor. The key is Cajun seasoning.

Yes, CAJUN seasoning. Not Italian Dressing Mix. ALERT THE MEDIA!

So, get past the fact that you’re eating shrimp and grits in the same bowl and GO TRY IT!! It’s the perfect spiciness – actually, I’d say it’s just really flavorful, not burn your mouth spicy (although I would have doused the whole thing in cayenne pepper if we had had any…). The grits are super creamy, especially when you add some cheese, and they provide the perfect bed for the shrimp and the piperade/sauce. The shrimp are the perfect scoopers for the leftover grits on the side of your bowl, so it’s like a delicious symbiotic relationship.

Is that gross to compare food with a symbiotic relationship? Whoops.

Shrimp and Grits
Taken from Tasty Kitchen, Shrimp part serves 4-5, Grits serves 2

– 2 pounds Peeled And Deveined Shrimp Tail On (21-30)
– 1 tbsp olive oil
– 1 can Diced Chile Tomatoes
– 3 strips Thick Bacon (I left this out and we didn’t miss it)
– 1 whole White Onion, Diced
– 1 whole Green Pepper, Seeded And Diced
– 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
– 3 leaves Fresh Basil, Torn (Nope…)
– 1 teaspoon Old Bay With Garlic & Herb Seasoning (I couldn’t find that at the store, so I just threw in Chile powder and red pepper flakes instead. Yum)
– ½ teaspoons Black Pepper
– ½ pieces Lemon, Juiced (No to this, too)
– 2 dashes Louisiana Hot Sauce (Cajun Seasoning, please)
– 2 servings of quick (not instant) grits – I think two servings is 6 tablespoons and 1.5 cups of water? Just follow the directions on the box.
– 1/2 cup of shredded cheese – This is shameful, but all we had was bagged Mexican blend cheese. I would have loved to use real, blocked cheddar, but oh well.
– 1 tbsp butter (Can’t have grits without butter, seriously)

Begin by heating up the oil, then adding the diced onion and bell pepper. Once they begin to soften, add the garlic, Chile powder, some pepper (to taste), Cajun seasoning (to taste), and red pepper flakes. After two minutes, dump in the entire can of tomatoes, juice and all. Let that simmer for 5ish minutes (or longer to let the flavors blend), then add the shrimp. I used cocktail shrimp, so they only took about three minutes to cook. Add some more Cajun seasoning on top of the shrimp to give them some flavor.
So while the shrimp is cooking, make the grits according to the box directions. Add in cheese and butter just as the grits are starting to thicken.

Load up your bowl with a hefty spoonful of grits, then top said grits off with a delicious helping of shrimp and veggies, along with some of the juice. Stir the shrimp and grits around to mix everything together and ENJOY!

So delicious. Weird, but delicious.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

