The world does not want me to study tonight. Current distraction = oboe girl playing oboe above me. It sounds like she’s playing Kenny G.

But I digress….this is a food blog, one that I said I would update yesterday. Except I was exhausted. Whoops. I started my new job at my school’s library, specifically the government documents section. It’s a lot more challenging than working at your typical public library, but I like it so far.

I digress again…

On Sunday I made German Coleslaw for dinner on Monday. Dinner on Monday, primarily made by Shelley, was cube steak AKA (in my opinion) country fried steak. Reminds me of the good ole days at Folks Southern Kitchen. I don’t know why we decided to have German Coleslaw with country fried steak, but it was delicious nevertheless. My grandma always brings for New Year’s lunch, but until this past year I completely ignored it – purple onions and shredded cabbage just didn’t seem all that appealing.

So wrong.

This is WAY better than typical mayonnaise-laden coleslaw. The sugar and the oil/vinegar break down the onion and cabbage overnight and help meld all of the flavors together in such a delicious way. It’s really easy to make, you just have to plan in advance for it since you have to let it marinate (or whatever) overnight. The coleslaw has a very, well, vinegar-y bite to it, but it’s also sweet from the sugar. The flavors from the dry mustard and celery seed really come through in a great way – I’d say they are more than essential ingredients. In the future, I think I’m going to try experimenting with cutting down the oil content – I hate the oily feeling the coleslaw leaves on your lips, but I don’t know how important the oil is to the breakdown of the cabbage and onion.

German Coleslaw
Serves 6

– 1 head cabbage
– 1 large purple onion
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp celery seed
– 1 tsp dry mustard
– 3/4 cup sugar, plus 2 tbsp
– 1 cup vinegar
– 3/4 cup canola oil

Cut the onion into thin rings, then cut the rings in half. Next, cut the cabbage in half, cut out the stem, then slice the cabbage into thin pieces (shred it, basically). Put the cabbage and onion into a big bowl, then pour the 3/4 cup sugar on top and mix. Let that sit for at least ten minutes so the onions and cabbage start to sweat.

While that’s going on, mix the seasonings, oil, vinegar and 2 tablespoons sugar in a saucepan and bring the mixture to a boil. Pour (you don’t have to let it cool) it over the cabbage and onion and let the coleslaw marinate overnight.

Then enjoy it with country fried steak. Or brats. That’s my dream – German coleslaw and German hotdogs.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

