Happy Mother’s Day! Hope everyone had a pleasant one – we went to church with my grandma then went to Red Lobster. It was kind of…meh. I’m not a big fan of Red Lobster, Olive Garden, etc. Me and my mom both agreed that we would choose Captain D’s over Red Lobster any day (you can’t beat their fried flounder – it’s the crunch). Yeah, most people think Captain D’s is gross, but I LOVE that place. It has awesome sweet tea too. We used to eat there before swim meets when I was younger. Great pre-meet eats, right?? Then I’d fuel up with giant pickles, ring pops, blow pops, baby bottle pops and the occasional hot dog. So healthy.

…..

Also, since it’s Mother’s Day, I just want to give my mom a shout out. My mom is amazing – she has pretty much been to every swim meet, tennis match, basketball game, karate practice, volleyball match and softball game. She cooks dinner (pretty much) every night, washes our clothes, and keeps the house together after long work days. She also listens to me freak out and whine on a daily basis, gives me pep talks for the same issues without getting aggravated and always has time to talk. I gripe about how worrisome she is, but deep down I’m thankful because it shows how much she cares. She is the most selfless person I know – she gives up her time, energy (physically and emotionally) and money for both me and my sister on a daily basis. I love you, Mom 🙂

Okay, food time.

Yesterday I bought THE most awesome knife EVER (well, I haven’t used many knives before, so I’m sure there are way better knives, but whatever). It’s nothing OBNOXIOUSLY fancy, just a Food Network Brand Cheftoku (Chef + Santoku) knife. I didn’t want to spend extra money on a full size one, so I just got the 4 inch, but MAN that thing cuts through onions like butter! Usually I have to kind of saw off the ends of onions, but this guy chopped off the ends in one go! I’m in love and I feel really professional when I use it. It makes vegetable chopping/cutting so much more enjoyable.

I used this AWESOME knife to create a delicious dinner for Shelley and I, courtesy of Mega Nerd Runs. It’s kind of like eggplant Parmesan, except not really. I guess eggplant pizza is a fitting enough title.

Or I could just call it COMPLETELY FREAKIN’ AWESOME, because it was THAT good. Seriously. Even if you don’t like eggplant (why?) I think you would like this – maybe just peel off the skin.

Eggplant Pizzas
Taken/Adapted from Mega Nerd Runs, serves 2

– 1 eggplant
– 1/2 bell pepper
– 1/2 onion
– 1/4ish cup of pizza sauce, plus 2 tablespoons
– 2 tablespoons bread crumbs
– 1/4 cup shredded cheese
– Diced pepperoni, not too many

So, using my cool knife (THE POWER!!) I diced half of a (Vidalia) onion (there ya go, Dad – they are as good as you said) and half of a green bell pepper. I sauteed them in a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. Then I hollowed out the an eggplant that I cut in half and put the middle part in the onion/pepper mixture and let it all soften for about 8 minutes.

Next, I added about 1/4 – 1/3 cup of pizza sauce (I cheated) and 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs. I put about a tablespoon more of sauce on each of the eggplant halves, then topped them with the veggie mix and popped them in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes, I topped each half with about 2-3 tablespoons of shredded cheese and some diced pepperonis (probably 7 pepperoni’s total) – the pepperonis made the pizzas look really greasy, but trust me, they weren’t.

Don’t those look awesome!? The eggplant got so soft in the oven – it sliced like butter! The mixture was awesome too, although I’m curious to see how it would taste with diced tomatoes instead of pizza sauce. I didn’t add an egg into the mix like MGR did – I didn’t really see the point.

I want to eat another one.

Oh, and I bought rutabaga at the store today. They didn’t have turnips or portabella caps, so I picked up a rutabaga instead. Don’t tell my dad – he has a very strong aversion to rutabaga and I’m pretty sure his heart broke a little when I told him I liked my grandma’s rutabaga this past Christmas.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to prepare it? If not, I guess I’ll just goooooogle it.

2 thoughts on “

  1. THAT KNIFE LOOKS INCREDIBLE!i was chopping up vegetables yesterday and its just so fun.. but i would so love to do it with this knife. i cannot tell a lie. i love olive garden. just from childhood memories. not for taste because every single pasta dish tastes the same! haha.must make that eggplant pizza! looks so delicious! i wish i ate all the food you and shelley always make! i slightly jealous! haha.p.s. meganerd runs is like my new favorite! all her food looks so delicious! and healthy!! quite different from the normal baking food blogs i read all day! haha.

Leave a Reply

