Okay, so I can’t figure out if I like the combo of carrots + peanut butter because I genuinely like the taste, or because I just like the excuse to eat peanut butter. I decided to try it because I see it on a lot of other blogs, but I can’t really make up my mind. I guess it’s hard for me because it’s such a weird combination.

I had said combo with dinner, which was another attempt at making stir-fry. Stir-frying is a fine art that I have yet to master. I think I need a wok. Or maybe I just need to go to some magical stir-frying class. Or maybe I need to work at Panda Express. I always want my stir-fries to taste like Panda’s – that probably means lots of oily-goodness, though…

So anyways, I think I finally have found a good method to try out next time (thank youuu, Food Network magazine), but tonight I was in a hurry since it needed to be ready before Shelley went to work. I feel like a homemaker wife – I had dinner ready for Shelley when she got home from work last night and I rushed to have it ready before she left today….

Confession: I like this part of homemaking. Cooking is definitely not a chore (especially with my new knife. Yes, I’m still infatuated with it).

Even though I didn’t have enough time to really measure everything out and cook the ingredients in sets like I was supposed to, it still turned out pretty tasty! One thing that made it better than past stir-fry attempts = cornstarch. That stuff is magic. Seriously.

Other magical ingredient = ramen noodles. Just the noodles, not the seasoning. I don’t know if it was the starch from the noodles or what (it was the cornstarch, never mind), but the sauce stuck to them wonderfully. I pretty much used leftover veggies and chicken from the fridge – 1 lemon pepper chicken breast, baby bok choy, half of a green bell pepper, half a Vidalia onion and a squash. Except I ended up taking the squash out because it tasted weird (it had been around for over two weeks…). First I marinated the chicken for fifteen minutes (does that even count as marination?) in 1 tsp cornstarch, 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tsp rice vinegar. And one clove of garlic. I chopped the vegetables and stir fried them in a tbsp of canola oil along with 2 tbsp of soy sauce, a 1/2 tsp of ginger, some sesame oil, a tsp of rice wine vinegar and garlic AND 1.2 tsp of cornstarch. I added in the chicken and the noodles at this point and BAM – stir-fry. Sort of.

The best part = bok choy leaves. They absorbed the flavor SO well. I love bok choy – their crunch is unbeatable! The Vidalia onions were also amazing – it’s too bad they’re only out for a few months each year.

On another note, I’m reading You Suck by Christopher Moore and it’s pretty hilarious, although apparently there was a prequel of sorts that I should have read first. Whoopsie. I got it at the library on Saturday. I LOVE the library – it is like a quintessential summer activity in my family. There’s no better way to spend a couple of hours on a summer day than picking out books at the library. It’s kind of embarrassing how big all of our piles of books get by the time we’re done. It’s just nice to be able to read for fun – I’m in hog heaven.

I just said hog heaven.

So, gimme some book suggestions!

6 thoughts on “

  1. i love these kinds of dishes!just kind of a potpourri of whats in the fridge {veggie wise} over some noodles! SO YUM!as for books i love eccentric fashion by simon doonan. he is seriously too funny and the book is all about getting down with your bad self {style wise}

  2. Oh.My.Gosh. I LOOVEEEEEEE Christopher Moore!!!! Island of the Sequined Love Nun is probably one of my favorite books ever. So is A Dirty Job… and Lamb! Oh gosh read Lamb next it's SOOOOOOOOO amusing. I tried to read You Suck, but though I found it amusing I decided halfway through I wanted to pick up the first one before I finished it and never got around to it…oh well.Aside from that…I made stir fry tonight! Ha! I used thin cut pork chops, red bell pepper, asparagus, pineapple, and scallions. I used a store bought marinade which was actually pretty bangin' (Kikkoman Garlic & Green Onion Teriyaki) and added some pineapple juice and rice wine vinegar for a sweet and sour effect. It was really tasty!

  3. Chelsea – That's EXACTLY how I think of stir-fries…and egg scrambles! I'll have to look for that book – it sounds like a good read!Jen – I can't wait to read more Christopher Moore books! I was seriously laughing out loud 75% of the time I was reading…thanks for the recommendation! And your stir fry sounds awesome and waaay better than mine – cook for me?? haha

  4. You have to try Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Reichl. It's a hysterical look at eating out and there are some great recipes as well.Stir fry is definitely easier with a wok. I don't do it often, but I love mine!

  5. carrots are really just a medium for peanut butter. ive done it on several occasions. i dont think the combination itself actually tastes good at all. unlike pear and almond butter. pure heaven.the thought of bok choy scares me. i want to try it but i just cant bring myself to be adventurous like that. i think its bc the leaves remind me of Brussels sprouts (icky)

  6. Lauren – Will do! I love books that circle around food!Alexi – OMG. I can't believe you don't like brussel sprouts!! Have you ever had them roasted or sauteed in shallots, garlic and chicken broth?? Anyways, bok choy tastes NOTHING like brussel sprouts – the stem is crunchy and divine, while the leaves are like a better version of spinach.

Leave a Reply

