A real post will come later, but for now, I want to win this giveaway. Which is why I’m posting it for all of you to see.

http://iowagirleats.com/2010/05/14/snacky-crunchy-chewy-giveaway/comment-page-1/#comment-31743

byeeeeeee!

…………………….

Today marks an important day in 2010. Today is the day that Lara and I began our annual summer Disney movie marathon. Each summer we watch the majority of the Disney movies we have – it never gets old! Over the years we’ve added various other mini-marathons, like Miyazaki marathons and attempting to re-watch all of our anime series, but Disney is always front and center. The best part of the marathon is towards the end of the summer – we usually save all of the renaissance era movies for last. In my opinion, the Disney renaissance goes from The Little Mermaid and ended with Tarzan, although Lara and I don’t particularly like Tarzan very much. In fact, the only animated Disney movies that were any good after Mulan in our humble opinions were The Emperor’s New Groove and Lilo and Stitch. And of course The Princess and the Frog,but that movie is potentially the start of another Disney era. Hopefully. Anyways, Lara and I are experts on Disney – it pains us when people mistake Anastasia and Balto for Disney movies (don’t get me wrong, we love the former, but there’s a HUGE difference between those two movies and Disney movies). We never get around to watching our entire collection – there are some movies we purposely skip. Examples: Fox and the Hound, The Black Cauldron, Atlantis: The Lost Empire (horrible movie, don’t own it), (usually)Oliver and Company, Bambi (our VHS version died), and the various Winnie the Pooh movies. There are only a couple of animated Disney movies that I can think of that we haven’t seen: Brother Bear and Home on the Range.

So anyways, we kicked off the marathon with Hercules. It’s one of my favorites, probably in my top 10 if we’re excluding PIXAR movies. Nothing like staying in to watch Disney movies on a summer Friday night!

I’m being totally serious, as sad as that may seem……

Anyways, today’s eats were pretty boring, but yesterday was pretty great. After my awesome bowl of cereal, I made sweet potato home fries with sauteed zucchini for lunch. I originally wanted sweet potato french fries, but since the oven here dies after half an hour, I had to improvise. All I did was cut a sweet potato into chunks, boil it in hot water for 10 minutes, then “fried” them in a skillet with canola oil (only a little, like 2 tsp), salt, pepper, Cajun spice, cinnamon and a little bit of brown sugar. I wanted them really crispy, so I resisted flipping them or stirring them for about four minutes, which was way too long – I charred all of them on one side. The homefries were still delicious and very crispy – the Cajun spice made them, in my opinion. Usually I don’t dip my sweet potato fries in ketchup, but yesterday was a special occasion. It’s weird – I used to HATE dipping my fries in ketchup, but now I completely douse my fries in it, much like I do with syrup and pancakes/waffles (I’m pretty sure I use 1/4 a cup of syrup per pancake/waffle, seriously).

For dinner I made a Bayou Chowder that was in the Thanksgiving Food Network Magazine. The original recipe called for leftover turkey meat and turkey stock, but since it’s May I used chicken/chicken stock. First I cooked up 3/4 cup of pearl barley in 2 cups of chicken stock. By the way, barley is AWESOME. I can’t wait to try it in breakfast form – it’s so chewy! The barley took about 40 minutes to cook, so while that was happening I cooked 3 chicken breasts in a skillet, seasoning them with salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning. And while THAT was happening, I diced a green bell pepper and some green onions. Then I shredded the cooked chicken.

My dad said that I should have boiled the chicken and cut it into cubes instead of shredding it – he said the chicken was too chewy compared to the rest of the soup. I liked it, but to each their own…he knows more about this kind of stuff than I do anyways, so when I make this again I’ll probably follow his advice.

Anyways, by this time the barley was done, so I dumped the barley, the chicken, the diced bell pepper/green onion and an 8 oz package of frozen okra into a pot along with 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water, 1 tbsp of minced garlic and 2 cans of tomato sauce. There was also 3/4 lb. of shrimp and 2 tsp. hot sauce in the mix too, by the way. I let all of that come to a boil, then let it simmer for about 10 more minutes so the flavors could all meld together.

I LOVED THIS STEW!! Mom wasn’t crazy about it, but Dad and I loved it! I put a fat dollop of sour cream on top of mine, which cut out some of the stew’s spiciness (fyi to all of you non-spicy people out there). The barley was a great alternative to rice and the okra was AWESOME – I loved the feeling of the seeds popping in my mouth as I chewed. Lately I’ve been really into Cajun-type dishes (example = my choice of seafood gumbo soup at Red Lobster last weekend), and this stew did not disappoint. I still like jambalaya the best, though. NOTHING beats a fat bowl of jambalaya. If only our oven was working………

Bayou Chowder/Stew
Taken from Food Network Magazine, serves 6-8

– 2.5 cups of shredded turkey (or 3 chicken breasts)
– 5 cups turkey broth (or 4 cups of chicken stock and a cup of water)
– 1.5 cans of tomato sauce (or two whole cans – who seriously uses only half a can??)
– 1 green bell pepper, diced
– 1 bunch green onions, diced/sliced
– 3/4 cup pearled barley
– 1 lb. shrimp, chopped (or 3/4 lb..)
– 8 oz. frozen okra
– 2 tsp hot sauce
– 1 tbsp garlic
– 1 tsp chili powder
– 1-2 tsp Cajun seasoning
– Sour cream, for serving

Tomorrow = more shopping for Disney World…it’s amazing how much stuff my mom says we need for a week long trip. Bleh.

AHHH DISNEY WORLD!!!

5 thoughts on “

  1. That stew looks great! And disney world shopping sounds fun, i'm jealous. Thanks for the book recommendations- Into The Wild is actually one of my faves!

  2. I've given you a blogger award, check out my page because the HTML link isn't working the way I want it to work!have a great week =)

  3. so i know how much you enjoy the whole egg-in-a-hole thing and today i stumbled across this…red pepper egg-in-a-hole * olive oil spray * 1 bell pepper cut into 4 1/2" thick rings * 4 large eggs * salt and fresh pepperIn a large nonstick skillet, heat on medium heat. When hot, spray olive oil spray, add pepper and let it cook a minute, then add egg into the center of the pepper. Season with salt and pepper and cook until the egg whites are mostly set but the yolks are still runny, 2-3 minutes. Gently flip and cook 1 more minute for over easy, longer if you like them over well.the picture is quite beautiful. a perfect little egg in a circle of delish. i imagine that i would start crying happy tears after covering it in frank's red hot. OH GOD OR IF I PUT FETA CHEESE ON TOP. sold.

  4. So anyways, we kicked off the marathon with Hercules. It's one of my favorites, probably in my top 10 if we're excluding PIXAR movies. Nothing like staying in to watch Disney movies on a summer Friday night!^Afreakinggreed on all counts girl!

Leave a Reply

