I am finally starting to fall into “summer mode,” which means I’m starting to lose the constant, nagging urge to study. It’s a sad, sad thing to be a psycho-studier.

I’ve read a few books since school let out…it’s pretty glorious, I’m not going to lie. I finished Revolutionary Road over the weekend, which was a really good book. It was exactly like the movie, though – I wish I had read it before seeing the movie. One question I have for all you that have seen/read Revolutionary Road is this: Do you think John Givings is legitimately insane or just outspoken/really progressive? Shelley and I think he’s just really outspoken for that time period/social group. I was going to start on another one of Shelley’s books, but this book was calling my name….

It’s about the Fundamentalist Latter Day Saints and it’s really sad, but REALLY interesting. For some reason I find the FLDS and it’s history really fascinating – one of my favorite books is Under the Banner of Heaven, which is also about Mormon history and the rise of the FDLS communities. This book is good so far, but I like the way Krakauer writes better than this dude.

I also saw Date Night last night, which was really funny – I love Steve Carrell and Tina Fey!

So, to prove that I’m semi-officially in summer mode, I decided to randomly bake something tasty earlier tonight…with the help of my stand-up mixer! I love using it – I feel so professional! I decided to make Banana Oat Bran Muffins, which sound really old ladyish, but they’re really tasty. I mean, there is no BAM in-your-face flavor, but I think that’s the beauty of this muffins. I ended up making half of the batch Banana Carrot Raisin Oat Bran Muffins, which were equally delicious, but prettier due to the flecks of carrot.

They actually ended up being significantly “healthier” than I had intended. We had no eggs, so I had to use egg whites (which I kind of think are a waste of time – all of the nutrients are in the yolk, folks!), I didn’t want to use up the last of the canola oil, so I used applesauce and I decided on a whim to use whole wheat flour instead of white…just because I felt like it. Thankfully, none of these changes affected the taste.

On an side note, I really HATE our blue counters. They are ugly and make everything in their vicinity look ugly, too. BLEH.

Anyways, here’s the recipe. I don’t know where I got it, it was just copied onto a Word document…so kudos to the original author………….

Banana (Carrot Raisin, if you desire) Oat Bran Muffins
Author = Unknown. Serves 12

– 3/4 cup Whole Wheat flour
– 3/4 cup Oat Bran
– 1/2 cup brown sugar
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/3 cup applesauce
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1/4 tsp nutmeg
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1 egg (or 3 tbsp egg whites)
– 1 cup mashed banana
– 1 tsp vanilla

And if you’re feeling fancy, add 1/3(ish) cup of grated carrot and half a box of raisins. I decided on a whim that I felt fancy, so I didn’t measure out anything exact. And this was only for half of the batter, so double it if you want all of the muffins to be fancy.

First mix your wet ingredients together: sugar, egg whites, vanilla, applesauce. Then in another bowl mix everything else except the banana. Mix the wet and dry together right until they’re combined – don’t over mix! Then fold in the bananas. Spoon the batter into (greased) muffin tins (3/4 of the way up) and bake in a 400 degree oven for 18-19 minutes. When mine came out of the oven, I could see chunks of banana on some of the muffin tops (haha, muffin tops) – FANCY!

The muffins were slightly dense, but moist. Like I said, the taste is kind of subtle, but still very delicious. I think I’ll crumble the other half of one I scarfed on my oatmeal tomorrow…

Nothing like planning ahead, people.

8 thoughts on “

  1. dense baked goods are best soaked in milk until crumbly! (I love soggy cereal; is it a crime?)looks good!

  2. yay – the stand up mixer made an appearance…glad you are having fun with it…admit it, you became obsessed with Mormon history after watching SP with us ;o)

Leave a Reply

