Today, I woke up to thunder. It was awesome.

I love summer thunderstorms. They are so relaxing for some reason, and there’s nothing better than curling up with a good book and listening to the thunder. It’s actually starting to storm again as I type…oh, happy times.

Anyways, yesterday I made couscous. I love couscous, mainly because of the texture. Plus it’s still kind of a new to me – I only discovered it’s existence in regular, mortal grocery stores (as opposed to immortal grocery stores like Earthfare, TJ’s and Whole Foods) less than a year ago. I’m also fascinated with all of the different ways you can “accessorize” couscous – I love the idea of adding raisins, craisins, almonds, dates, etc. Yesterday I brought part of this dream to life by adding raisins to plain couscous, along with some eggplant and chickpeas. I would wish I could have added some zucchini, but sadly they have not cropped up in my dad’s vegetable garden yet. Before making the couscous, I sauteed the eggplant in a tsp of olive oil, then sprinkled lots of curry powder, some chili powder, paprika, cinnamon, and garlic powder on top. Once the first sides browned, I flipped the eggplant then added maybe half a cup of chickpeas to the pan, along with another sprinkle of curry powder. While that was cooking, I made 1/3 cup of (dry) couscous according to the box directions and tossed a handful of raisins in the pot as well. After the couscous cooked, I mixed it all together and then….I ate it.

It was good (the picture quality is not, sorry). I loved the raisins and I was pleased with the way my hodge podge of random spices worked with the eggplant. One of my dreams is to have a professionally made couscous dish. This will probably happen in about a week and a half when I’m in EPCOT!!!

Yes, I’m going to Disney World in less than two weeks. I AM SO PUMPED. Disney is my life blood, along with oatmeal. And Spongebob on weekday mornings before school/work.

Today I hung out with Hannah. Our friendship consists of stupid/funny pictures, Anchorman, Java Chip ice cream, and (now) baking. Plus other fun things, but mainly those four. Here are some pictures:



Goooood times.

So today we decided to bake tasty things, like Mocha Chocolate Chip muffins and Chocolate PB Oatmeal Bon Bons. Soooo much chocolate, soooo much deliciousness. The muffin recipe came from Baking Bites and they were absolutely exquisite. Seriously. While my Banana Oat Bran Muffins had a nice, subtle flavor, these muffins had a BAM-in-your-face mocha flavor that was DIVINE.

Mocha Chocolate Chip Muffins
Taken from Baking bites, Serves 12

– 2 cups all purpose flour
– 1 cup + 2 tbsp sugar
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 cup butter
– 2 tbsp cocoa powder
– 1 tbsp instant espresso (We used 2 packets of instant coffee)
– 2 large eggs
– 2/3 cup milk (any kind)
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 1/4 cups milk chocolate chips (Make sure to toss them in some flour so they don’t sink to the bottom)

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together. In another dish, melt the butter, then mix in the coffee/espresso powder and cocoa powder. In ANOTHER bowl, mix the eggs and milk together.

I don’t think all of the different bowls are necessary, by the way.

Uh yeah, so after that, mix everything together in a big bowl until combined. The batter is going to be REALLY thick, FYI. Finally, mix in the chocolate chips, then pour the batter into a greased muffin tin. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 19-22 minutes. Then go into a chocolate coma.

Oh, and here are the bon bons we made. I don’t have the recipe, but they were good…pretty much flourless brownies with peanut butter and oats. My kinda dessert.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Just found your blog – you had me at your header, then solidified my opinion with the mention of anchorman and funny pictures with friends. I'm looking forward to reading more! This is great. Stop by mine if you have the time someday ❤

Leave a Reply

