Well, I gave up on the Mormon book. The writing was just too…bleh. I hate that I am snobbish like that – it’s not like I could write the book better than the author!

Anyways, I started reading Water for Elephants yesterday and I’m already over halfway through it! It’s SO good! Apparently they’re filming the movie version right now and I’m super excited because my love, Rob Pattinson, is playing Jacob! I can totally see Reese Witherspoon as Marlena and Christoph Waltz as August.

I love getting into a book that’s so good that I just can’t put it down. Harry Potter is like that, even 15(ish) rereads later (I’m not exaggerating when I say 15 – it’s an obsession). So was The Kite Runner.

What books have you all read that were suuuuper awesome???

This past weekend I got to see my grandpa fly in the same plane he flew in the Korean War – he served in the US Army during the Vietnam and Korean Wars. He doesn’t talk about his personal experiences much, but this flight was really special for him and I’m glad I was there to see it!

I’m pretty sure both Pop Pop and my dad were pooping their pants with all of the vintage planes flying around.

It all happened at the 57th Fighter Group Restaurant, which was a really cool place and had a great outdoor atmosphere! Before our meals we ordered a few appetizers since the wait for the flight was an hour and the flight itself was half an hour. Appetizers included: hummus plate (good, but not the BEST hummus I’ve ever had…I think it might have been artichoke hummus?? The olives were really good, though), nachos (good, but only because I was starving!) and a cheese plate (DELICIOUS! But really, when is cheese NOT delicious?) that included brie cheese, Gouda, and some kind of dill cheese, according to my uncle.


Austin’s ET finger…

I felt fancy eating a cheese plate, don’t judge me.

After inhaling my share of the appetizers, I wasn’t that hungry for dinner. Shocker, right? My stomach is usually a black hole! In KERF fashion, my mom, sister and I split two entrees – the crab cake with homemade potato chips and the roast beef sliders. This was my first crab cake (a travesty, I tell you!) and it did NOT disappoint! The homemade chips were also really good. The sliders were a little on the dry side, but were still good overall. Unfortunately I didn’t take pictures of those, so I’ll leave them to your imagination!

I feel it’s important to mention the creepy dancing man that we all watched throughout the night. There was live music playing early on and an older man was having a blast dancing the night away, by himself. I mean, kudos to him for entertaining himself, but little did he know that he was providing even more entertainment for us. Weirdly enough, he reminded me of the rich dude from the short story “The Most Dangerous Game.” I don’t really know why, though – perhaps it was his safari-like shirt and poofy white mustache?

I can’t believe I remember that story.

My next post will include sardines and okra. That sounds gross out of context. Sorry.

6 thoughts on “

  1. Water for Elephants is amazing. I read it over Christmas in about three days and enjoyed everything about it. Other books that I think are awesome.. um.. for a light read I love Marian Keyes (anything by her) and I recently reread Wuthering Heights – I know it sucked in high school, but read it again now. Amaze.

  2. Water for Elephants is one of my favorite books! I had no idea they were making a movie of it. Now I'm all excited! Kite Runner was great too, I still haven't read 1000 Splendid Suns yet but it's on my summer list. All your food looks so tasty, and I totally would feel fancy if I was eating a cheese plate too!

  3. Water for Elephants is on my to-read list, now I'll have to make an effort to get to in before the end of the school year. My suggestions are The Namesake (even better than the movie!) and The Golden Compass trilogy. I read constantly and it sounds like we like a lot of the same things. I'm an HP addict as well, my students can't ever believe that I've actually read the whole series multiple times! Lauren from http://laurens20and10.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment