I finished Water for Elephants within 24 hours. SO GOOD! I can’t believe I waited that long to read it! I thought the end was kind of rushed (not the thing Rosie did, but the ending for Marlena and Jacob), but other than that, SOOO AWESOME! Go read it.

I also finished Message in a Bottle as part of Shelley’s book package. It was a quick read, but boy, Nicholas Sparks does NOT like happy endings! I liked it better than A Walk to Remember, but overall it wasn’t one of my favorite NS books.

As for the Disney movie marathon…well, it’s off to a slow start. Now that Lara’s officially done with school, however, it should be easier. We watched Ratatouille last weekend and we’re currently watching Robin Hood. I love both, but Ratatouille holds a special place in my heart.

Remy and I are both food freaks. Don’t worry, Remy. I understand your freaky food obsession, although I don’t converse with a fat, imaginary French chef – I guess I’m not THAT fancy… Speaking of French, has anyone seen Marie Antoinette with Kirsten Dunst?? Geeze, that movie is total eye candy!! Each time I watch it I love it more and more. It’s a lot like The Duchess with Keira Knightley, except much more light-hearted (except for the fact that Louis and Marie die at the end….).

I wish I could sit around all day and eat fancy French cakes and play with pugs. What a life.

I sure do talk about movies/books a lot nowadays – how do you all feel about that? Does it spice up my humble blog??

And now, okra. I feel that it’s a pretty under appreciated vegetable. I mean, we Southerners eat fried okra a lot (right?), but I’ve never really had raw/roasted okra before. Only in this past year have I tried okra in soups/gumbos…sad, right? Sometimes my food ignorance is overwhelming. I decided to enlighten my taste buds Monday, though. First of all, raw okra is delicious. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about the fuzzy skin, but it’s just like peach fuzz. Even better than raw okra, though, is ROASTED okra. Just toss some okra in olive oil, salt, pepper and Cajun seasoning and bake in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes. Kosher salt works wonders here.

Oh man, roasted okra. Be still my heart. They’re like French fries, except better. Well, maybe not better (I mean, they’re totally different vegetables…actually, I can’t comfortably call French fries a vegetable, but you know what I mean), but they’re certainly a comparable substitute.

My other taste bud enlightenment came in a little tin can and had a questionable odor. Sounds gross, right? Well, on first glance, sardines ARE kind of gross looking/smelling/feeling. They’re still in semi-fish form (no heads or fins, but the bones are still there), so you have to mash them yourself. I decided to follow a recipe for sardine salad on KERF that I had been curious about for awhile…

Sardine Salad
Taken from Kath Eats, serves 2

– 1 tin sardines (I used Louisiana hot sauce flavor)
– 1 carrot (diced)
– 2 celery stalks (diced)
– Relish (or a chopped pickle)
– 1ish tbsp Mayo
– 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
– Capers (didn’t have any..)
– 1 tbsp of the hot sauce in the tin

First mash the sardines in a bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Serve sandwich style, on a bed of greens or in a pile. Like me. Fancy, right? I linked back to Kath’s site – her salad was much more photogenic than mine. I mean, the whole point it to get you to try sardines, right?

Sardines are definitely fishy tasting, but I thought they were really good. Plus they’re cheap ($1.20 per tin!!) and apparently they have a crap ton of vitamins and such. Although the bones are technically still inside the sardines, you can’t taste/feel them at all. The sardines themselves don’t even look like fish anymore, so I didn’t feel like a murderer while I was mashing. Poor sardines, they have such a bad rep…they’re so misunderstood, just like Remy.

PS – Here’s a preview of my Disney snackage – I’m going to need plenty of fuel to help me get around Disney (AKA the promised land) for seven days.

7 thoughts on “

  1. Okay seriously. Why are we the same. Marie Antoinette is an incredible movie visually, and I absolutely loved the Duchess. I'm a nut for historical fiction. Read anything by Philippa Gregory or Margaret George (Memoirs of Cleopatra, Henry XVII, etc.) You won't be disappointed! Remy is my boy. That movie is one of many that totally makes my life – I'm so glad you mentioned it here ❤ Thanks for the sardine desc! I've always been curious but too scared to try ^~

  2. Okra ~ yuck! :(. I can't choke that stuff down, lol. And living in the south that's a bad thing to say! I love to read and you've just given me some new book suggestions! Have a great week!

  3. Glad you liked Water for Elephants! What Mormon book were you talking about earlier? Because I'm currently reading Under the Banner of Heaven and it is strange. Your Disney snacks look yummy! Loove Larabars.-Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries

  4. Shelley – I can't wait for you to read Water for Elephants!! It will be fun to discuss it with someone :)Steph – Thanks for the book recs…I am SO fascinated w/ Henry VIII! I'll have to reserve some of those books at the library.Lindsay – Def. try okra and tell me what you think!Brlracincwgrl – Aw, that stinks you don't like it…you're a disappointment to the south 😉 haha, jk! I can see how the texture would get to you!Megan – I read When Men Become Gods or something…it was pretty terrible! I read Under the Banner of Heaven a couple of summers ago and LOVED it – the writing is sooo much better than the one I just tried to read.

Leave a Reply

