Good news: I finally tried butternut squash and pumpkin ravioli.

Bad news: It was cooked in the microwave in a plastic black bowl – yep, it was a frozen dinner…Healthy Choice Naturals to be exact.

For the past year I’ve been somewhat of a frozen dinner snob – I’m a fan of frozen veggies and fruits, but I’m wary of frozen meals because of the fat sodium and preservative content. I’m slowly warming up to some brands of frozen pizza, like California Kitchens and Kashi, so I decided to give this meal a whirl. My main motivation was the butternut squash chunks and the pumpkin ravioli – it was probably the only way I’d get to try any kind of unorthodox ravioli. Plus the whole thing just sounded fancy and complex. The box said no preservatives and the ingredient list looked pretty good…the sodium content wasn’t bad either. The meal itself was surprisingly very flavorful and delicious! I can’t really compare it to fresh butternut squash since I’ve never had any, but I definitely want to try cooking one when they’re in season now. It was in the same category as rutabaga and sweet potatoes – sweetish with great texture. The asparagus was crisp and the sauce was good as well. The ravioli filling was awesome, but the pasta part was a little chewy. Overall, I’d definitely eat this again if I was feeling too lazy to cook.

Not sure why I gave a lengthy review for a frozen dinner, but whatever.

In other news, I won my first blog give away!! I won a coupon for a free half gallon of Silk Almond Milk from Exercise and Eat. So exciting. Perhaps someday I will host a give away…

Also in other news, obviously the blog has a new look – Lara made the cool banner using a picture of one of the muffins Hannah and I made last week. Hopefully the background colors look as cool on ya’lls computers as they do on mine…

Aaaaand on that note, I’ll see you all when I’m back from DISNEY!!!! Go watch The Emperor’s New Groove like Lara and I are…it’s a VERY under appreciated Disney movie. It’s actually in my top five Disney movies – it’s so hilarious.

18 thoughts on “

  1. I am loving the blog makeover! And I agree that The Emperor's New Groove is fantastic. I'm pretty sure I quoted it nonstop after the first time I saw it and annoyed the living daylights out of everyone around me. Have fun at DISNEY!!!

  2. I am loving the blog makeover! And I agree that The Emperor's New Groove is fantastic. I'm pretty sure I quoted it nonstop after the first time I saw it and annoyed the living daylights out of everyone around me. Have fun at DISNEY!!!

  3. I think we may be soul mates. I, as well, am an expert in all things Harry Potter and Spongebob. I once spent (and I kid you not), a week on the couch during winter break watching Spongebob about 6 hours a day :)I see nothing wrong with this!

  4. I think we may be soul mates. I, as well, am an expert in all things Harry Potter and Spongebob. I once spent (and I kid you not), a week on the couch during winter break watching Spongebob about 6 hours a day :)I see nothing wrong with this!

  5. I do love your makeover! And The Emperor's New Groove is my fiance's FAVORITE disney movie. The other night, we found this brand of wine called "Funky Llama" and we immediately bought it and spent the rest of the evening quoting TENG! The wine was pretty tasty, too. πŸ™‚

  6. I do love your makeover! And The Emperor's New Groove is my fiance's FAVORITE disney movie. The other night, we found this brand of wine called "Funky Llama" and we immediately bought it and spent the rest of the evening quoting TENG! The wine was pretty tasty, too. πŸ™‚

  7. oh I just love healthy choice sometimes – have you tried their all natural tortellini meal? too good for words! seriously you have to try it asap!!congrats on winning πŸ™‚

  8. oh I just love healthy choice sometimes – have you tried their all natural tortellini meal? too good for words! seriously you have to try it asap!!congrats on winning πŸ™‚

  9. I've hearded that healthy choice stimmer frozen meals were really good and healthy but never tried them…but the buttersquash ravioli seems awesome! I don't think we have it in montreal, but if we do, I would definitely try it! thanks for the review!

  10. I've hearded that healthy choice stimmer frozen meals were really good and healthy but never tried them…but the buttersquash ravioli seems awesome! I don't think we have it in montreal, but if we do, I would definitely try it! thanks for the review!

  11. Kronk kills me. I named my snowboard after him ,ahahahah. He's amazing. Ahahahah. At the restaurant when he's in the kitchen – AHAHAHA. I'm grinning like a loon at work. Congratulations on the blog giveaway win! I've not won anything yet myself. I'm a huge fan of Amey's frozen meals. She's the only brand I buy; they're always so good.

  12. Kronk kills me. I named my snowboard after him ,ahahahah. He's amazing. Ahahahah. At the restaurant when he's in the kitchen – AHAHAHA. I'm grinning like a loon at work. Congratulations on the blog giveaway win! I've not won anything yet myself. I'm a huge fan of Amey's frozen meals. She's the only brand I buy; they're always so good.

Leave a Reply

