Great news…I FINALLY went to a farmer’s market today! It was kind of small since it wasn’t the typical Saturday morning event, but I still bought some great local produce! Kayla and I split a loaf of organic rye bread (which is absolutely delicious and chewy), a HUGE summer squash, some interesting zucchini/squash hybrid, a fat tomato, some fingerling potatoes (so cute), a cucumber and some flowers for Shelley. The only bad thing about the market was the heat! It’s over 100 degrees here! My LEGS were sweating. I don’t understand why my legs sweat – it’s kind of abnormal and pretty gross looking, in my opinion.

Anyways, I also went to a huge antique show with my mom over the weekend and bought some fresh produce from a stand outside (plums, peaches, okra, and a tomato), as well as PUMPKIN BUTTER!! It’s real pumpkin butter too, straight from Amish country! I put a tablespoon in my morning oatmeal…oh man, it was heeeeaven. So thank you, Amish folk! The antique fair was pretty cool, but I used to HATE antique fairs when I was little, which I guess is pretty normal. Everything was so expensive though! I was already picking out huge wooden cabinets for my future kitchen…so far away….

So, question: What’s your favorite summer fruit? It’s a toss up between peaches, watermelon and cantaloupe for me. I felt like a fruit monster this past weekend after all of the fruit I consumed!

And now, a cooking blunder. Last week I picked some recipes to try out for dinner at the apartment. One was a recipe from Food Network Magazine that used couscous, sauteed Swiss chard, feta cheese, and chick peas. Being the lazy person that I am, I pretty much gave the entire recipe a makeover using stuff I had on hand, not thinking about whether the ingredients and seasonings would mesh together. I used sauteed kale instead of chard, goat cheese instead of feta, barley instead of couscous, but luckily I had a can of chickpeas, so that stayed the same. I’m pretty sure the original recipe had simple seasoning, possibly lemon juice among other things. I, on the other hand, decided to cook the barley with some cinnamon, saute the kale in apple cider vinegar + maple syrup (which alone is AWESOME), roast the chickpeas with cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, then top the mix with goat cheese and raisins.

I’m not sure what I was going for, to be honest. I mean, it looks attractive enough..

The ingredients alone also tasted good – barley with cinnamon and cooked in half milk, half water is an excellent alternative to oatmeal (although pretty chewy..it might be better as a mix in instead of the base), maple kale was delicious (also chewy. I’m pretty sure I popped my jaw a few times trying to chew the stems), and the chickpeas with cinnamon and pumpkin spice were surprisingly satisfying. For some reason, however, none of these melded together at all. It wasn’t a disgusting dinner by any means, but something just didn’t click for me, which really stunk since the dish was so pretty looking with the deep green kale and the white goat cheese.

I wonder if the original recipe would have tasted any better? Sometimes I think I have a bad habit of adding TOO MANY ingredients instead of trying to keep the flavorings simple. That’s why I really want to take cooking classes – I still feel like I’m winging when I cook.

Anyways, I’m not going to post that recipe, it’s not worth it. But do try sauteing kale in apple cider vinegar and maple syrup – it’s awesome! And sweet roasted chickpeas are great for munching on as well!

7 thoughts on “

  1. Leg sweating isn't bad. I swear everyone has a weird place they sweat. Mine…I probably should just keep that to myself 😉 haha

  2. i can't believe the dish didn't turn out. it truly is beautiful! haha. but if it weren't for cooking blunders then what would keep us on our toes in the kitchen! watermelon is definitely my favorite summer fruit! i can't get enough of it!

Leave a Reply

