Whew, it’s only Monday and I’ve already tried out two new recipes! I know I said in a recent post that I LUUURRVE cooking for myself, but overall, I like cooking for others more. This is not because I’m a generous and giving soul who loves to show love for others through cooking; it’s because I can cook MORE – bigger dishes, side dishes, etc. I can actually use recipes from my Food Network magazines!

Deep down, though, I’m sure it’s at least partially because I love to feed my friends and family. Maybe.

Anyways, last night I decided to bake Ellie Krieger’s Blueberry Coffee Cake. I love using her recipes mainly because I’m more likely to have a cup of plain yogurt hidden in the depths of our packed fridge over a cup of butter. I made sure to do two things this time:

1. Sufficiently cream the butter and sugar.
2. Not over-mix the batter. I have a paranoia about undermixed dough, but after making THE densest muffins a few weeks ago, I have a new paranoia: over-mixed dough. Ew.

This coffee cake is definitely breakfast worthy – the batter doesn’t have much sugar, but it has just enough to make this cake an indulgent start to your day. Pair it with coffee (duh), a glass of milk, and a banana and you have yourself a delicious breakfast.

Blueberry Coffee Cake
Taken from Ellie Krieger, serves 12

– Cooking spray
– 1 cup all-purpose flour
– 1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour or regular whole-wheat flour
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 3 tablespoons sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
– 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
– 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
– 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
– 2 tablespoons canola oil
– 2 large eggs
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 1 cup plain nonfat yogurt
– 1 cup fresh blueberries, or frozen and thawed

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray an 8×8 baking dish with the cooking spray.

Cream the butter, oil, and brown sugar. Make sure to cream the mixture very well – it should look kind of fluffy. Mix in the vanilla and the cup of yogurt.

In a separate bowl, mix the two flours, baking soda and salt together. I actually added a few dashes of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg into this mixture, just for kicks and giggles. I don’t know if it made that much of a difference, but it was my attempt at spontaneous baking.

In another bowl (lots of dishes to wash, right?), mix the cinnamon, granulated sugar, and walnuts together.

In 3 batches, incorporate the flour mix into the butter mixture. DO NOT OVER-MIX! Resist the temptation. It’s hard, I know.

Spread half of the batter into the baking dish. It will take a little finagling (Finagling? What am I, 80?). After spreading the batter, sprinkle the nut mixture over the batter, then scatter the blueberries. Ellie told me to only sprinkle half of the nut mixture at this point, but I ignored her and used it all at this point. I didn’t really want nuts on the top of the cake. Spread the last half of the batter over the nuts and berries, then sprinkle some cinnamon and granulated sugar over the top.

Bake the cake for 30 – 40 minutes. Let the cake cool, then cut into 12 rectangle/squares. Then find ways to “accidentally” break off corners of each piece as you put them away in a tupperware to take to work the next day. Then eat said corners. Yum.

I think yogurt makes cakes super moist and delicious, which is exactly what this cake was, in my opinion. The blueberries stayed in tact and provided a nice pop of color and flavor. I actually liked the nuts – I’m glad I chopped them pretty finely, though (think the size of LARA bar nuts). One day I will learn to be patient and wait for my baked things to cool completely before trying to transfer them…I had lots of pieces with no bottoms. Oh well, more nibbles for me!

The other recipe I tried = Curry Peanut Noodles from Food Network magazine. I think I’ll talk about it next time though – this post is already pretty lengthy. I will go ahead and say that this was an AWESOME dish. So delicious.

And now to report on some of the new products I bought at Earthfare.

First, the oatmeal. I LOVED the flax. I also loved the thickness – it was borderline cakey by the time I was done cooking it. The only problem I had was the fiber content – 25% of my daily fiber intake. That’s a BIIIIG fiber jump. It was a little much for my stomach.

Was that TMI? Sorry. Just giving a forewarning.

Uh, anyways, Justin’s Maple Almond Butter was amazing. So creamy and delicious. But really Justin, why are you so expensive??

The tempeh was…interesting. I definitely didn’t like it alone/raw. It tasted too processed and soy-ish. I ate some more today on a sandwich with jam and cheese – much better. It has an odd texture, meaty but not. I think I will like tempeh best after pan frying it with soy sauce or something. Tempeh definitely won’t be a pantry staple for me, but every once and a while it will be nice.

And finally, I (well, my mom) bought some White Chocolate Peanut Butter Company PB. It was only $3.50 at Walmart (compared to $4.50 at Kroger, and higher everywhere else), so I couldn’t resist.

I’m so glad I didn’t resist. HOLY CRAP, it is by far THE best nut butter I’ve ever had. EVER. EV-ER. I liked it so much that I decided to take a Myspace-era picture with the jar.

OVER N’ OUT!

12 thoughts on “

  1. The blueberry coffee cake looks perfect! It's like a moist, hovering square of beauty lolWhat kind of tempeh did you try? Just straight-up raw?? Tempeh is kinda like tofu- it's awesome if you know how to season/cook it…but raw it's kinda nasty šŸ˜€

  2. That looks amazing, and I love the pic of you with the nut butter!! And I agree with putting yogurt in cake. I didn't think to do it until earlier this year, but it worked its magic!

  3. Chelsea – thanks!Danielle – I bought flax tempeh?? I tried it raw only because I've seen so many people just plop a hunk on a sandwich with jam and cheese, which was pretty tasty. You're right though, with seasoning it will taste awesome :DVicky – Well thank you!Sara – I would totally ask for peanut butter for Christmas. I probably will this year, actually. Cinn. raisin is the flavor I covet – lucky you!brlracincwgrl – I didn't know you didn't like peanut butter!! Craziness!

  4. Oh golly I love your new layout! It's so much easier to read than before. I'm such a nerd when it comes to layouts and such… guess that's why I studied journalism. Heh. Anywho, I love Ellie Krieger! Do you have a copy of "The Food You Crave?" I know she's come out with a new book since then but I love love love that cookbook. Also, insanely adorable PB picture!!!!!! I love off PB&Co's Cinnamon Raisin Swirl. I snack on it with celery at work all day. šŸ™‚

  5. Jenn – Thanks! I like it much better too…I had no idea it was so hard to read, though! I feel bad haha – I guess the resolution really varies from computer to computer.I NEED cinnamon raisin PB!! It seems like it's everyone's favorite!

  6. youre so gorgeous!!this morning i was going to make a blueberry loaf ironically!! hmm makes me sad seeing what i COULD have had. i'll have to make it soon tho!! ā¤ xoxo

  7. Kelsey – Thank you! Definitely make the coffee cake – it's awesome!Lindsay – Justin's is indeed delicious. And tell me how your tempeh experience goes…I still need to try making mine with soy sauce, etc.

Leave a Reply

