Well howdy, ya’ll! Man, three posts in a week…weird, right? I guess I’ve been pretty productive on the food front this week, so I have more to talk about than usual.

First, however, I need to get something off my chest…a rant, if you will.

I CANNOT STAND Ashley Greene. Kayla has heard this rant three plus times, but now I feel compelled to share it with the blog world. Ashley Greene’s only claim to fame is playing Alice in Twilight. Physically, I think she fits the role well – perky and annoying with a slight pixie look about her.

I hate it.

You know stuff that just grates on your nerves for no reason? Well, Ashley Greene just grinds my gears. I see pictures of her EVERYWHERE now and the more interviews I see/read, the more I think she’s just going to be a passing phase; once Twilight ends, so will her career, more or less. She might be a Jennifer Love Hewitt type, actually. Plus, I think she’s kind of a famewhore. Maybe (probably) I’m being overly harsh, but it makes me feel refreshed getting this rant off my chest. So thanks for reading.

Ahem, anyways…

I made this dish for myself on Monday night.

Channa Masala by Jenna at Eat, Live, Run.

It was GOOD. Except I didn’t have chickpeas, which is are pretty big part of the original recipe, but I think lentils did the job nicely. Also, I didn’t have ground coriander, so in a moment of extreme stupidity, I threw in a tsp of coriander pods. This resulted in random bursts of intense, unwelcome coriander flavor during the meal and lunch the next day. Ew. I also didn’t have garam marsala (it seems to me now that I didn’t have half of what this recipe called for), so I just added in extra cumin, tumeric and ginger, along with some cinnamon and nutmeg. And finally, I only had Italian style stewed tomatoes, as opposed to plain, diced tomatoes. I think affected the taste somewhat, but not in a bad way. I mean, I was already missing chickpeas, garam masala and coriander, so whatever. I did, however, have a real lemon!! Amazing!

Jenna gives step by step pictures and instructions, so I won’t post them on here. I will say that this dish was flavorful and spicy, but not hot-spicy…just lots of different spices! Definitely make sure you pince the tomato paste as Jenna says – the flavor REALLY intensifies in the most glorious way possible. I served it over brown rice, which was a good choice on my part. Yum. Coincidentally, this was my first time eating lentils. They’re pretty much like small beans, taste-wise. They have an obnoxious amount of fiber (and I mean A LOT) and they’re really easy to cook as well. I used green lentils, but I’m curious to taste red lentils – do they taste any different??

[Random Side Note: HARRY POTTER WEEKENDS ON ABC FAMILY ARE THE BEST KINDS OF WEEKENDS!!]

So anywho, the other tasty meal I made consisted of adorable fingerling potatoes and some oven-fried chicken. And frozen microwave vegetables. Don’t judge me – they’re convenient and cheap.

So, for the fingerling potatoes, all I did was saute them in olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper and FRESH rosemary (thanks, Kayla!) for about 10 minutes until they were nice and saturated with the oil and seasonings. Then I roasted them in a 425 oven for 10 minutes! The skins became super crispy while the insides became tender and delicious. YUM! Such a nice change from regular potatoes.

The real star of my delicious dinner, however, was the oven fried chicken. I found the recipe in a Cooking Light magazine and decided to give a whirl since I actually had walnuts and rosemary (like how I tied in the potatoes to the chicken? I amaze myself sometimes. Not really.)

Walnut and Rosemary Oven Fried Chicken
Taken from Cooking Light, my version serves 1

– 1/4 cup buttermilk (or 1/4 cup milk with a splash of vinegar)
– 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
– 1 chicken breast
– 1/3 cup panko
– 1/3 cup finely chopped walnuts
– 2 tbsp fake, powdered parmesan cheese
– 3/4 tsp minced rosemary
– salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 425.

First, mix the milk and mustard in a bowl, then add the chicken. Make sure to coat it well.

Meanwhile, toast the panko and the walnuts in a dry pan for three minutes. Then add the cheese, salt and pepper, then dredge the chicken in the panko/nut mixture. Discard the milk/mustard mix.

Next, put a wire rack on a large baking sheet. This helped my chicken crisp up SO well, FYI. Just plop the chicken on top of the rack and both sides are able to get deliciously crispy! Bake the chicken for 13-18 minutes, depending on the size of your breast. I had to bake mine for 18 because it was a HUGE piece of chicken.

This is one of THE best chicken recipes I’ve ever made, seriously. The panko has so much flavor and the walnuts give the chicken a nice crunch. The rosemary adds the perfect hint of Christmas-y goodness (I could smell-taste Christmas trees, ya know?). The chicken was also perfect with the potatoes. Excellent dinner, if I do say so myself, especially while watching Cool hand Luke.

Well, my next post should contain quite a few product reviews – two different CLIF bar flavors and two Kashi bar flavors. I’m also going to frolic in the wild tomorrow night with Kayla and some of her friends from back home, which should be fun. Rumor has it that we’re eating brats and s’mores. Delicious.

PS – I’m feeling especially evil now for randomly ranting about Ashley Greene, but I just can’t bring myself to delete it…

15 thoughts on “

  1. hahahaha I love your PS – to each his/her own opinion right? πŸ™‚ Don't feel bad. I'm glad you got it off your chest. I made a lentil recipe a couple weeks back and realized after posting I didn't have half the ingredients either. I just kind of winged it.

  2. oh gee wiz this made me laugh so much. i'm sorry you feel that way about Ashley Green, i'm pretty indifferent. i haven't seen Eclipse yet, and i saw your opinion before, but i'm still looking forward to judging for myself. i'm just waiting for all the teeny boppers to see it the 4 or 5 times they usually do so i can watch it in peace lol. and i've also made the mistake of popping whole coriander into something that calls for ground coriander. big mistake lol. it's so tasty but not like that hahaha.

  3. That looks so delicious. I had no idea who Ashley Greene was. I'm pretty sure people will be like "Ashley Green?" "Who?" "You know that girl who played Alice in Twilight?" But that outfit is so not weird… at all… yeah… actually it is.

  4. Hahaha, I have people like that too. Don't even get me started on Miley Cyrus. I can write thesis statements on my dislike for that girl!

  5. I think everyone has people that irritate them and you totally have the right to be irritated with Ashley Green. I also wanted to let you know that Harry Potter weekends are totally awesome. I have always loved Harry Potter Books and Movies. Do you own all of the movies so that you can watch them whenever you feel the desire!! πŸ™‚

  6. You definitely need to have all the right ingredients for Indian food. But that just maybe the Indian noob in me speaking. I'm not comfortable substituting ingredients in Indian dishes yet.

  7. oh my goodness no… i am so glad you posted that.. she is the perfect alice.. but whenever i see her in interviews i just can't stand her! and she is always trying to be photographed.. and that awful awful dredful sobe water commercial she has.. YUCK! i am with you!

  8. hey girl! just found your blog! AH if i had known you were going to charleston i would of thrown out some great recommendations! those are all good picks tho! πŸ™‚ can't wait to keep reading!

  9. I wrote down that channa masala recipe a while ago and can't wait to try it when I get home! And I can't wait to hear about your weekend! Creepy man at the grocery store sounds so intriguing!

  10. Haha, I have a major girl crush on Ashley Greene. To each his own! I've been wanting to make that Channa Masala for a while now, glad to know it's a winner, thanks for trying it out for the sake of your readers. :-)Also, I LOVE Harry Potter weekends too.

Leave a Reply

