Jersey Shore. Real Housewives of New Jersey. Teen Mom. Etc.

Last year I refused to watch these shows. I thought they were completely stupid and not worth my time. Unfortunately, my roommates and most of my friends watched these shows, so while they laughed and enjoyed themselves, I holed up in my room and studied or something incredibly cool like that.

When all of these shows came back with second seasons, however, I decided to pull my head out of my butt. Basically, I realized that if you can’t beat them, then join them.

I’m glad I did, even if it makes me a raving hypocrite. It’s nice to be able to enjoy something with my roommates, even if it is over shows with whacko mommies going through midlife crises, etc. These shows are not meant to be picked a part for their intelligence…these shows are mindless entertainment and meant to be hilarious. Plus, I’m pretty sure I prevented my head from going farther up my butt than it is already. It tends to happen if you’re an English major/minor.

Uh, no offense to any readers that are English majors or minors. You know what I mean, though – once you start taking college English classes, you start analyzing anything and everything you watch/read.

So anyways, I’ve been catching up on the life and time of Snookie, as well as trying to keep myself from throwing my head through a wall when I listen to Danielle and Ashely fight on RHNJ.

Anyone else watch these shows or have any “if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” stories?

On a more intellectual note, I finished The Grapes of Wrath. From what I understand, The Grapes of Wrath is Steinbeck’s most liked book, but I think I like East of Eden better. I related the characters and themes of East of Eden better, although the ending of The Grapes of Wrath was pretty gnarly.

[Side note: The UbyKotex commercials are weird, but totally awesome.]

It was interesting to read the kinds of meals the Joads ate…lots of fried dough and fried potatoes. And biscuits. Call me weird, but I think it would be cool to go back to the late 1800’s/early 1900’s and eat a blue collar breakfast. Yum, grease.

For now, though, I’ll stick with one of my comfort foods – black beans and rice.

(Sneaky way to transition into food, right?)

Oh, be still my heart. At home, my mom made black beans and rice pretty much every month. Just black beans, white rise and spicy sausage. And some spices. Its simplicity is part of it’s charm and deliciousness, in my opinion. For some reason, I never made it at the apartment until last week, though. It wasn’t nearly as delicious as my mom’s (no sausage), but it was still super satisfying and tasty. I made it to go with Latin baked chicken, which I found in a Cooking Light magazine. It was really easy to make, except for the fact that I bought a whole can of chilies in adobe sauce, but only used 1/4 of the can. Now I have lots of chilies.

Anyways, here’s the recipe:

Latin Baked Chicken
Taken from Cooking Light magazine, Serves 2

– 1 chicken breast
– 1 can chipotle chile in adobe sauce
– 1 clove garlic
– 1/4 cup lime juice
– 3 tablespoons soy sauce
– 2 tablespoons honey

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Combine the soy sauce, lime juice, garlic, honey and chile in a bowl. Add the chicken breast and let marinate for ten minutes.

Put the chicken in a broiler pan or baking dish for 15 minutes. In the meantime, blend the marinade until smooth, then bring to a boil in a sauce pan and cook for three minutes. After the 15 minutes, brush the chicken with the cooked marinade then bake for another 10 minutes. Brush the chicken with the remaining sauce and bake for ANOTHER 10 minutes or until fully cooked.


Sorry about the picture quality…it looked prettier in person, I promise!

The chicken turned out very moist and flavorful – the marinade was so delicious! It was spicy, but the honey made it slightly sweet as well and the chipotle chile added an excellent kick of flavor. The only problem I had was that the marinade wasn’t totally smooth – I kept tasting chile seeds. I need to invest in a better food processor. The baking process was also a little annoying. I was really hungry and I hated having to take the chicken in and out, in and out, IN AND OUT of the oven for forty minutes.

The end result was worth it though, in my opinion. I actually stabbed the chicken with a fork a few times while it was marinating, hoping that it would help the chicken soak up more flavor and moisture. I think it worked. Plus it was fun to stab the chicken.

So tell me some of your favorite comfort foods. Actually, tell me what you think makes a comfort food…comfortable? You know what I mean. I think my grandma’s cheese eggs would also fall under the category of my favorite comfort foods, but I can’t really pick out what a comfort food really is, ya know?

7 thoughts on “

  1. AHHH THOSE ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITE REALITY SHOWS! i'm so glad you are watching them! and the fact that you referenced the ashley fight absolutely makes my day. wasn't that insane??! i mean dang, and the way danielle went off and was so psycho. i mean it was a hair pull!!! haha.those beans and rice look delicious!

  2. I'm a sucker for trashy reality tv…but I draw the line at Jersey Shore haha. I'm not sure why I consider Kourtney & Khloe and better…but they're sooo entertaining!For me, comfort foods are anything warm, creamy, and savory. So bread pudding, oatmeal, cornbread…

  3. I love The Grapes of Wrath! When I was in high school we were required to read it and I swear I was the only one in my AP English class who just loved it! When we had class discussions it was basically just me and the teacher because no one else liked the book 🙂 lol

  4. Chelsea – IT'S CRAZY!! It's really starting to grow on me and I'm pumped for the Kim G/Danielle melt down next week. CATFIGHT!!Danielle – I've never seen Kourtney and Khloe, but they're popular around this parts too. Creamy and filling = great definition of comfort food…mmm, mac n' cheese!Molly – Exactly. Mac n' cheese is the bomb. Perhaps schnitzel w/ mac n' cheese on top??Erica – Aw, thanks! I'm going to check out your blog in a sec! :)Camille – That was the story of my life in high school English classes! Actually, it was the story of my life until I finally started taking upper level Lit. classes in college!

  5. My comfort food is BBQ'd spareribs and white macaroni and cheese. Yum yum. PB&J also takes me back to childhood. You know what is really sad. The thing that is the most comforting to me are McDonald's hamburgers. It was a real treat to go there when I was little. Whenever I eat them I get the warm cozy feeling.

Leave a Reply

