Are there some foods that you really just don’t understand? Food that just tastes blah and you don’t know why it exists at all?

For me (since I know you all are SO curious), this would be canned/frozen corn kernels, Kraft Easy Mac, Kid Cuisines, Kix cereal, white bread, Velveeta Cheese, cheapo frozen pizzas, and Rice a Roni. I’m sorry if I offended any one. I know Kix might be near and dear to many, along with the Easy Mac.

On the flip side, are there some foods/dishes that are just so right that you don’t know what to do with yourself when you eat them? Food that makes you wonder what kind of life you had before you tasted it?

For me (since I know you all are even MORE curious), this includes many things. Some that stick out are nut butters (with or without banana and/or chocolate), oatmeal, JAMBALAYA, awesomely amazing pizza, smoked salmon with cream cheese and capers (I wasn’t truly living until I tried that heaven-sent combo in Charleston earlier this month), and brownies.

Also in this category = shrimp and grits.

Bless my soul, how did I not know about this delicious, yumtastic meal until earlier this year???? How can you not like the combination of creamy, savory grits with flavorful shrimp (ahem, Mom…)?!

I’ve made this once before, but this time I just threw everything together. Sometimes life works out better that way. That’s why I love cooking – you can throw stuff together and if you have a base knowledge of what works well together, usually the end product will at least be pretty decent!

Tonight I just sauteed some onion with garlic and Cajun seasoning, added 1 large diced tomato, cooked two servings of grits, roasted some okra, and added the shrimp last minute, along with more Cajun, Chile and cayenne pepper. Add in some salad (with olives and cottage cheese – hello, lovers) and sweet, juicy watermelon and you have yourself an excellent summer dinner!

My dining partners tonight were Alexi and her dog, Bella. Alexi is actually our new roommate and is moving in next week! I’m so excited – she shares my passion for Food Network (TRIPLE D!!), cooking/baking, trying new foods, etc. Plus it will be fun to have another person around. Bella is huge and adorable, think Great Dane + large hound dog. Add in Kayla’s cat, Max, and you have yourself a happenin’ apartment!

Earlier this week I made some Lemon/Lemon Blueberry Muffins – they were good, but I think I tupperware-ed them too early because the next day they were pretty chewy. Perhaps I overmixed (again)?? Or maybe it was the ingredients…here’s the recipe:

Lemon Muffins
Google search, serves 12

– 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 1 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 3 tablespoons butter, melted
– 1 1/2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
– 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
– 2 eggs
– 1 (8 ounce) carton low-fat lemon yogurt

The only thing I changed was the egg part – I used 1 egg and 1 egg white…I didn’t want to use up two of Kayla’s eggs.

I also added blueberries to half of the muffins, just for kicks and giggles (and a pop of blue color). The lemon flavor was definitely there, but I think the muffins could have been sweeter. I also made a lemon sugar glaze which made them a little sweeter, but overall I was kind of disappointed with the texture.

Everyone at work seemed to enjoy them, but then again who doesn’t like free food at work? I owe my co-workers and supervisors big time – they boost my baking ego so much. Perhaps I’m too critical of my baking – I have severe anxiety about feeding people food I cook/bake sometimes. Anyone else have that problem??

At least they were pretty, right?

And now I’m off to read The Girl Who Played With Fire – SO. GOOD.

13 thoughts on “

  1. I'm anxious about stuff I make for others too! Especially if I healthify it! Oh and I'm glad you discovered the magic of shrimp and grits 🙂

  2. i don't think i've told you this but you def should know that you are one of my favorite bloggers!! and i absolutely love your blog!also the lemon muffins look YUMM!i always get nervous with the first bite of someone taking of my baked good… will they like it?!?!! hhaah!

  3. Surprisingly, the food I find to be really "blah" is pasta. I love lasagna and ravioli and anything "stuffed", but regular spaghettit-type pasta is just gross and boring to me!

  4. I always get nervous when I give people my baked goods. But the muffins definitely look amazing. :DWhen I first tried cilantro, I remember being amazed. It was like a whole new world of cooking, tasting, and flavors came out. I put it on everything and anything…haha. 😀

  5. Megan – I agree!Chelsea – Aww thanks!! I love your blog too – it always brightens my mornings :DChelsey – LOL mussins are deeeelicious!Camille – I agree, unless it's like top notch homemade lasagna (ie my dad's) or something different like butternut squash ravioli, I could totally pass up a pasta meal.Sarah – Haha, I actually discovered last weekend that I don't like cilantro as much as I thought I did…I asked for some on my Moe's burrito and the girl totally doused my burrito in it! It was a little overwhelming for me..

  6. I hate Kix and Rice a Roni and Easy Mac, too. I don't understand why people love them, but I guess they may not understand why I can eat kabocha till I turn orange, either. lol. What brand of lemon yogurt did you use? Those muffins sound terrific!

  7. I live in the South and have never had shrimp and grits. Something is wrong with me. LOL Yours looks so good too. I agree with most of those foods you listed. I mean, why opt for those when you can get something similar but so much better? I also am loving the Lemon muffins. I'm on a total lemon flavored kick right now.

  8. The muffins definitely look amazing. Maybe you can try again for better results… blueberry + lemon is a winning combo for sure. I'm making a cake with these 2 ingredients tomorrow for a bbq 😀

  9. Those are definitely pretty! I grew up on Velveeta cheese actually. Now I find it quite disgusting.

Leave a Reply

