After my weekly dinner with the other library kids was canceled, I was pretty sure I would have nothing interesting to talk about until Alexi moved in on Tuesday. Fortunately, the food gods smiled upon me today and blessed me with 3 very over ripe bananas, a medium sized cup of pumpkin spice frozen yogurt, a new jar of nut butter, and MEATLOAF!

Half of this couldn’t have happened without the help of the new oven at my house.

[Cue heavenly, ethereal singing]

It’s one of those fancy schmancy convection ovens with the ceramic flat top stove.

I don’t like the flat top stove. I dirtied it up during my first time cooking on it this morning (bad oatmeal!), which resulted in my mom frantically scrubbing the eye with 409 cleaner for 10 minutes to no avail. My dad ended up buying some fancy oven cleaner in a teeny bottle, but do any of ya’ll have tips for cleaning flat top stoves??

Anyways, I used said over ripe bananas to make banana muffins!

I found the recipe on Annie’s Eats, except I didn’t do the crumb part because it was 10:00 at night and I was feeling kind of lazy. Instead, I added a sprinkling of oats and sugar which aesthetically gave the muffins a little somethin’. They were super easy to make – mash bananas, add sugar, egg and melted butter. In another bowl, mix flour, baking soda/powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix the wet into the dry, taking care not to overmix, which, by the way, I did NOT do this time!

[Cue heavenly, ethereal singing]

My secret? Stir with a wooden spoon, not a whisk. You all are probably like, “DUH SARA, GEEZE,” but all I have to say is pish posh – I have moist, delicious banana muffins.

And since you all are DYING to know, I topped my muffin with a nice schmear of Peanut Butter Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, which I also ate on a piece of toast after dinner. What did I think, you ask? It’s totally yummy and addicting by itself, but I think it is infinitely better with toast, muffins, bananas, etc. The chocolate-y goodness is enhanced that way, in my opinion. On the flip side, White Chocolate Wonderland, while delicious on top of oatmeal and PB&J toast, is much better alone, on top of your index finger.

The pumpkin spice frozen yogurt came as a sweet reward after a fat shopping trip, where I scored MAJOR deals at Old Navy. I bought 7 or 8 shirts for $55 bucks! I also bought this year’s gameday dress. Does anyone else find the whole “Let’s wear pretty dresses to a football game in 100+ degree sunny weather while we all get totally drunk” really, well, stupid? I’ve embraced it, obviously, but it’s still kind of a weird tradition, in my opinion. Anyways, the pumpkin spice yogurt was good, but in all honesty wasn’t worth the five bucks (my mom’s five bucks, not mine, mind you). The granola topping was sub-par and the pumpkin spice flavor didn’t mesh that well with the tangy-ness of the yogurt. Overall it was still good…when is frozen yogurt NOT good??

What are your favorite food court eats? After they closed down my beloved Buddha Express, I started eating food from this place called the Farmer’s Basket. They have questionable chicken, but the side veggies are all Southern classics – think roast potatoes, black eyed peas, squash, etc. It’s really good!

And finally, the meatloaf. Did anyone watch The Amanda Show back in the day? Whenever someone says meatloaf, I start singing that weird “MEATLOAF, MEATLOAF, GOTTA HAVE SOME MEATLOAF CRUNCH” song in my head. Sometimes I sing it out loud too, usually to Shelley and/or Kayla. Anywho, my mom is going to use our working oven to make a tasty meatloaf dinner. Meatloaf used to repulse me, but now it speaks to my nostalgic side. How do you feel about meatloaf? I’ll have to re-evaluate after I eat my mom’s tomorrow, but as of right now, Shelley is the meatloaf queen.

11 thoughts on “

  1. What a beautiful new oven! I may be a little jealous :)I was trying to tell my boyfriend about The Amanda Show the other day and he didn't understand it! I explained to him that Amanda Bynes is quite talented! Remember Penelope? 🙂

  2. Posts about peanut butter always catch my eye. I just discovered your blog and this means you get a thumbs up from me! And I used to LOVE the Amanda Show… but did you hear that she recently decided she was leaving the acting world because she's not happy anymore? Sad. She was ridiculously goofty.

  3. Okay. So. Meatloaf -> I only eat my mom's, and I love it. The idea grosses me out, though, I mean: ground beef, RAISINS, come -on-, but there's something so comforting about the way she makes it, hahaha. Congrats on the oven!! My parents bought one at home – I use a gas stove myself, which I love, but that gets absolutely filthy almost on the daily. They're less intimidating to clean, though. Those muffins need to meet the inside of this belly, stat.

Leave a Reply

