Let’s get real here. Pizza is glorious. It’s perfect for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. Pizza = endless possibilities. I could probably eat different kinds of pizza for the rest of my life and be content. Well, not really, but you get what I mean.

Do you know what else is divine and almost as versatile as pizza? Tacos. Breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner, people. Seriously.

So what do you think happens when you combine pizza AND tacos? TACO PIZZA, aka the best back to school dinner EVER. Crunchy, seasoned crust, chicken with tons of seasoning, crunchy bell peppers and topped with creamy sour cream – what’s not to love?! I also made a Mexican spinach salad to go along with the pizza. It was super easy and the dressing was really unique (to me) and delicious! It was a hit with all of my roommates, too, but really, who wouldn’t love taco pizza? The secret to making this pizza top notch is to season the crust and pre-bake it before adding the chicken, salsa, cheese, etc. I found the recipe in this month’s Food Network Magazine. It kills me when I find ingenious recipes like this – taco pizza seems so obvious!

Whatever. I’ve been developing a delicious breakfast pizza in my mind since last night. I don’t know about ya’ll, but whenever I can’t fall asleep I always start thinking of what I want for breakfast the next morning and I’m usually out within the next five minutes. Is that weird?

Okay, anyways, here is the recipe for Taco Pizza!

Taco Pizza, courtesy of Aaron McCargo, Jr.
Serves 8

Taco Seasoning

– 2 Tbsp onion powder (I only used 1)
– 2 Tbsp garlic powder
– 1 Tbsp chili powder
– 1 Tsp dried oregano
– 1 Tsp cayenne pepper (I only used 1/2 tsp)
– 1 Tsp Cumin (Mine was a heaping tsp – I LOVE cumin!)
– Salt and pepper

For Pizza

– 1 tube of thin crust pizza dough
– 1/4 cup olive oil (I only used 3 Tbsp)
– 1 lb chicken (I only used one breast)
– Flour, for dustinig
– 1 cup shredded mozzarella
– 1 cup shredded cheddar (I only used about 1/2-2/3 cup of Mexican style shredded cheese)
– 1 avocado (optional – DO IT!)
– 1/4 onion, diced
– 1/3 bell pepper, diced
– 2/3 – 3/4 cup salsa (I eye balled it…you don’t want to overload the pizza)
– Sour cream, for serving
– Cilantro, for serving

This recipe (for me at least) requires a lot of multi-tasking. First, preheat the oven to whatever temperature the pizza crust directions give – for me, it was 400 degrees. Next, chop your onion and bell pepper. Then mix together your taco seasoning. Start heating oil in a saute pan. While that’s heating up, dice the chicken breast, dump the chicken in a bowl with a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of oil and half of the taco seasoning. Mix well to coat the chicken. Let that marinate for about ten minutes. In the meantime, sprinkle some flour onto a baking sheet and roll out your pizza dough. Spread 2 tablespoons of olive oil on the pizza and sprinkle the rest of the seasoning on the pizza in an even layer. Seasoning the crust is CRUCIAL. DON’T FORGET IT!
Pop it in the oven to pre-bake for about five minutes.

Next, dump your spice covered chicken into the pan and let it sizzle for awhile without stirring to create a DELICIOUS spice crust. Seriously, don’t touch it for like, four minutes. It’s worth it. After four or five minutes, flip the chicken pieces over and let them sizzle for another three-ish minutes until cooked through.

After your crust is done pre-baking, take the sheet out of the oven and spread on the salsa. By this time my chicken was done cooking, so I added that on next. Then came the onion and bell pepper and finally the cheese. Pop the pizza back in the oven for another 8-10 minutes.

While the pizza is baking, chop up an avocado. Also, you can make a delightful Mexican Spinach Salad!

I made a few alterations:

– 4 good sized handfuls of spinach. I had a mega bag, but I didn’t use all of it.
– 1/2 can black beans
– 1/2 can corn kernels
– 1 roma tomato, chopped
– 1/4 onion, diced
– 1/3 bell pepper, diced

For the dressing:

– 1/4 cup olive oil (I probably used less…I just eye balled it)
– 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegarr
– 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
– Salt and Pepper
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp chili powder

Mix the dressing components together. Mix the salad components together. Pour dressing over salad and toss. Easy and delicious. The apple cider vinegar gave the dressing a really unique taste, especially combined with the cumin and chili powder.

So, after making the salad, the pizza should be done. Cut the pizza in half long wise, then cut each half into four pieces to make eight (YAY MATH!). Serve with avocado slices and huge dollops of sour cream.

I don’t have a good picture of the salad, so you’ll have to use your imagination.

School went well, although I was half an hour late to work because of bus overloads. Needless to say, I was pretty frazzled (and sweaty) this morning, but my friends at work put me in a great mood, especially Chris who so generously picked me up after I was unable to get on TWO different buses. Today’s classes were Web Design and Nutrition for the Lifespan. Both seem interesting, but pretty easy. My test load is actually a lot lighter this semester, so hopefully that will take off some of the stress I put on myself. Tomorrow I have Food Principles, Writing for the Web, and Intro to Nutrition Studies. I just found out that for my Food Principles lab I have to buy a lab coat, non-slip shoes, and a name tag. And I have to wear my hair in a net.

Awesome.

12 thoughts on “

  1. You have me drooling. Seriously. You just combined two of my favorite foods and made a slice of perfection. Yum!I love that you made your very own taco seasoning too! I always buy the packet, because I honestly can't get the ingredients down pat. I'll need to try this. 🙂

  2. I adore pizza! And I'm the type of person who eats cold pizza for breakfast…oh yum! This recipe looks great. I love Aaron McCargo's show!

Leave a Reply

