I’m pining hardcore for fall. It seems like every blog post I’ve read recently has focused on fall weather, changing leaves, cooler weather, winter squash, PUMPKIN (as in pumpkin oats, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin lattes), and the like. It doesn’t help that I keep seeing Halloween candy and decor in every store I visit. I’m even starting to crave coffee in the afternoon.

Unfortunately, I live in Georgia. It will be in the 80’s until late October.

For me, fall means the start of the 3 month long holiday season, good food, unique flavors, crisp air and warm colors. Fall also means the start of college football.

Oh, college football.

I’ve never been into college football even though it’s HUGE in the south, especially at UGA. Although I’ve been quite the party pooper about it in the past, I’ve weirdly felt kind of nostalgic for it this year. I haven’t been to a game yet (and I’m missing the home game against Arkansas this weekend), but I’m actually looking forward to attending a few games this year. I think it also helps that football games always mean good food. I had the breakfast tailgate over Labor Day weekend and last weekend I went to Kerry’s to watch UGA vs. USC…and to eat lots of food.

BBQ, specifically. Along with other foods of the golden brown variety.

I try to eat healthfully most of the time, but I’ve come to accept that eating healthy means indulging on really great “junk” food on the weekends. Plus, it’s this kind of food that’s making me enjoy football way more than I have in the past.

Callie made BBQ (sorry for the bad pictures – lighting is always an issue)

and some rocking Spinach dip (she said she used vegetable soup mix – never heard of that before, but it was DELICIOUS)

Melissa made AWESOME mac n’ cheese. Not the nasty Easy Mac stuff, but FO’ REAL baked mac n’ cheese

Someone made Gameday Poppers – Kind of like scones/biscuits with pepperoni bits

And I made cornbread! I was going to make a vegetable, but what fun are those on gamedays?

I used my mom’s recipe and it turned out perfectly! Crumbly, but moist, sweet, but kind of salty. I love cornbread.


My Mom’s Cornbread

– 1 cup AP flour
– 1 cup cornmeal
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1/4 cup canola oil
– 3 tsp salt
– 2 eggs
– 1 cup milk
– 4 tsp baking powder

Mix the dry ingredients (flour, cornmeal, salt, baking powder) together in one bowl, and the wet (sugar, milk, eggs, oil) in another. Add the dry ingredients into the wet in three batches, stirring until just combined.

Apparently my dad always over stirs the cornbread batter. Shame on you, Dad.

Grease an 8×8 baking dish (with butter, duh) and bake for 20-25 minutes in a 425 degree oven.

This cornbread is especially tasty as a side to soup. We usually have it with vegetable soup. And it’s the cornbread my dad uses in his Thanksgiving stuffing.

(Oh, Thanksgiving. Where are you?)

So, UGA ended up losing to USC. But I ate mac n’ cheese, BBQ and cornbread. And lemon-less lemon squares (Jamie), brownies (Kerry) and peanut butter cookies (Chelsea).

It was a successful Saturday in Athens for me.

6 thoughts on “

  1. I used to get so jealous of everyone enjoying Fall when I lived in San Diego. It got majorly depressing! Now I am just one of those annoying people who lives in Oregon and talks about how nice and cool it is 🙂 And here I go again… how annoying of me!Great eats, by the way!

Leave a Reply

