I saw Kirsten Dunst last night.

And Jenny Lewis. And her singing (boy)friend, Johnny.

I ate a delicious fried egg sandwich (with cheese) at 1:30 in the morning…

…along with some delicious wedge fries dipped in feta cheese dip (I THINK it’s just ranch dressing and feta cheese pureed together).

Yep, last night was a long, but fun night. My friend, Kerry, has a birthday on Sunday so last night we went to see Jenny and Johnny at the 40 Watt. I’ll admit that my old lady body cycle kicked in around 11:00, meaning my back started to hurt from standing and all of the sudden I felt a huuuuuge wave of sleepiness, but I still had a blast. Jenny Lewis is AWESOME live – she was also in the band Rilo Kiley, if that’s familiar to anyone. Anyways, she had such a feisty attitude when she sang and could totally pull of that signature (for lack of a better word) yodel that she has in many of her songs. The weirdest part was seeing Kirsten Dunst…Jenny called up a slew of people to the stage during her encore (“Acid Tongue”) and Kirsten Dunst was one of them! She must be dating Jenny’s drummer….

Needless to say, I was stupidly starstruck.

After the concert, everyone was kind of hungry, so we walked to The Grill.

The Grill is a retro diner looking place that serves breakfast from 12 AM (score for me!) to 12 PM and also has some really unique sandwiches and burgers. I’m pretty sure their main demographic is your typical drunken college student wandering around the downtown area during the early morning hours of the weekend. Yes, that pretty much describes me, except for one key detail – I wasn’t drunk! Hooray sobriety! My underage sobriety cost me 2 extra dollars to get into the concert, by the way. Rip off!! Anyways, I think The Grill’s most popular menu item is the crinkle fry wedge platter with feta cheese dressing, and rightly so! I’m not a huge fan of wedge fries (too much potato, not enough fried potato skin), so if I’m going to eat fat fries, I need lots of ketchup or a REALLY good dipping sauce.

Feta cheese dip is REALLY good dipping sauce.

It’s creamy, rich and slightly tangy from the feta. I could eat it with a spoon, seriously. Thank you, Matt, for giving me the rest of your delicious dip and fries. I actually ordered the fried egg sandwich with cheese. It wasn’t anything special, honestly, but it tasted good at 1:30 in the morning. The rest of the menu looked really good though – I’d love to go there again and try some of their unique sounding burger and sandwich combos. And to eat more feta cheese dressing. The atmosphere was really cool, too. Lots of 50’s diner-type stuff with oldies playing (“Wouldn’t it be Nice” by The Beach Boys, anyone?). It’s also pretty cheap – always a plus in my book.

Before the concert, I whipped up a delicious couscous bowl, courtesy of….MY FOOD LAB MANUAL! Exciting, right? My manual is CHOCK FULL of great recipes, plus all of the handy scientific information (ex: acid makes vegetables firm, bases make them mushy). I added a few extra ingredients, though, just to make it a one bowl dinner kind of deal.

Spiced Couscous
serves 1

– 1/3 cup dry couscous
– 2-3 oz. shredded rotisserie chicken
– 1 small zucchini, chopped
– 3 tbsp chopped almonds
– 3 tbsp raisins
– 3 chopped olives
– 1/4 – 1/2 (to taste) each: cumin, paprika, chile powder, garlic powder
– salt and pepper, to taste
– 2 tsp olive oil

Bring 1/2 cup of water to a boil. Add in the spices, some salt and the dry couscous. Stir once, cover the pot, then take it off the heat and let stand for five minutes. In the mean time, heat up the oil in a pan. Add the zucchini, plus some salt. Let the zucchini sit for two minutes so it starts to brown on one side, then stir so the other side browns. Add the diced/shredded chicken to the pan, along with the almonds. Add the olives and raisins to the couscous, then take a fork and fluff the couscous so it doesn’t stick to the pot. Once the chicken is heated through and the zucchini is browned (you still want it to be crunchy), add the mixture to the couscous, then stir to mix everything together.

And there you have it – a one bowl dinner that’s easy, delicious, and includes your starches, vegetables and protein. It also has a buttload of different textures, which is my favorite part – fluffy, soft couscous, crisp zucchini, crunchy almonds and squishy raisins/olives. Yum.

I also tried out acorn squash (again). This time it turned out MUCH better. I decided to cut the squash in half-moon shapes, like Kath, and then bake it. I topped the wedges with a light smear of butter, a drizzle of maple syrup and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Then I popped the suckers in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, then flipped and let bake for another 10. This time, the squash was perfectly soft, not stringy and very sweet! I really liked the skin, but I know it’s super fiberous, so I only tried a piece and peeled the rest of the skin off.

And now I’m off to take a nap, because old lady Sara is still worn out from last night. I’ll leave you with this parting thought: mashed banana + mashed sweet potato + brown sugar = AMAZING. Seriously, go try it. I saw it in this month’s Everyday with Rachel Ray and it was divine. I can’t believe I’d never thought of it.

Also, I finally finished all of my PURE bars, so expect a full review of those soon!

3 thoughts on “

  1. That sounds like an amazing night! And sometimes good old greasy food is fun to eat. I am so obsessed with roasted acorn squash! Yours looks yummyyy 🙂

Leave a Reply

