GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!!

Three big things for this post.

1. I had my first, truly excellent steak dinner, which included my first experience with twice baked potatoes…but more on that later.

2. I am OFFICIALLY double majoring in Dietetics and Consumer Foods. I’ll be in college an extra year and I’ll also be slogging through three semesters of Chemistry (and other sciences), but it will be worth it in the end, I think. Dietetics/nutrition is the first specific field I’ve truly been passionate about since starting college. Before that, I always hovered around journalism and English, both of which were kind of safety blankets for me – familiar and manageable. I love reading and I’m a decent writer (even though I hate writing papers), but I could never picture myself doing anything specific with a degree in Journalism. It’s the exact opposite for Dietetics; even though I’m terrible at science, I’m willing to put up with stressful semesters because I can really see myself in some sort of Dietetics position. Here’s to another 2.5 years at UGA!

3. I AM HOSTING MY FIRST EVER GIVEAWAY!!



Remember those 12 Fresh Express coupons I received last week? Well, I’ve decided to be generous and share the wealth! Actually, a rep. from Fresh Express emailed me and so nicely reminded me that I was allowed to share the coupons with my readers. I felt really selfish, to be honest – it never occurred to me to host a giveaway until that email.

So embarrassing.

Anyways, I’m going to give two lucky readers three Fresh Express Salad Mix coupons each. All you have to do is:

1. Leave me a comment and name your favorite Disney movie (this kind of stuff interests me, all right?)
2. Post about the giveaway on your blog and link back to me (heh heh)

The deadline is Thursday, October 21st at MIDNIGHT!! I’ll have a roommate pick out two random numbers to select the winners.

I have a paralyzing fear that no one will enter the contest – DON’T LET THIS FEAR BECOME A REALITY!!!

So yeah, awesome steak dinner. I have never been a huge fan of steak. Before today, most steaks I ate were tough, dry and BLEH. Given the choice, I would have picked salmon or even a burger over a fat steak. Today, however, the steak gods were watching over me. We used fancy fat steaks that my mom found at the commissary (military grocery store) and my dad (read, my mom) made sure not to overcook the steaks this time.

The result was a tender, juicy, perfectly marinated piece of steak. It sort of melted in my mouth, so to speak. There were a few hints of pink on the inside, but the outside had a delicious, slightly charred crust.



Perhaps it was the hint of pink, but for some reason I was especially aware that I was eating a dead cow tonight…..

….but not enough to make me want to go vegetarian. Kudos to you readers that are vegetarian/vegan, though 🙂

Also, apparently my sister’s cat, Hope, was really into the steaks tonight. She sat by my dad’s chair throughout the entire meal.



Hope is kind of weird – she LOVES chips, or anything in a crinkly bag. She’s all over you the minute you open a chip bag. She especially loves Cheetos, specifically the orange residue it leaves on your fingers.

We also had twice baked potatoes. Personally, I think they would have been more attractive had we twice baked them in the oven, but my dad said it was a waste of energy.

Sometimes, you have to make sacrifices. Today was the day to make a sacrifice.

So yeah, we microwaved the potatoes and although they didn’t brown or anything, they were still really good. If we do these again, I really want to add chives/green onions, sliced olives and sauteed, diced onion. YUM.

Basic Twice Baked Potatoes
Serves between 6 and 12

– 6 small to medium sized potatoes
– 1/3 – 1/2 cup sour cream
– 3/4 cup cheddar cheese, grated
– 1/3 cup Monterrey Jack cheese, grated
– 1 tbsp butter
– 1 clove garlic
– 1 tsp seasoning salt
– 2 tbsp bacon (…we used bacon bits. Don’t hate.)

This is easy, and I’m sure everyone knows how to do a twice baked potato, but whatever. First, bake your potatoes. 3 ten minute cycles in the microwave, or 1 hour in a 400 degree oven. Be sure to poke the potatoes with a fork so they don’t explode or anything like that. Next, let the potatoes cool for a bit (those suckers get HOT), then slice each potato in half. Take a spoon and gently scoop out most of the potato, but make sure to leave a little so the skin doesn’t fall apart. Mash the potatoes, sour cream, bacon, butter and cheese together in a mixing bowl until they reach your desired consistency. Ours were pretty smooth, but I think a chunkier mix would have been good.

(Side note: I am suddenly envisioning a Southwestern twice baked potato – black beans, salsa, sour cream, pepper jack cheese, perhaps some chili powder – YUM.)

After mixing the filling, refill the empty skins with the filling, then microwave for another three to four minutes or pop in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. Top with salsa, if you want (it’s good!).

So don’t forget – ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!!

9 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!!

  1. gosh, I am going to have to have you over for an Unc Shawn steak…they are the BEST. I don't even like to order them out because none compare to his. He is the steak master! And, now he has a Big Green Egg…he has been a grilling fool…love it! So glad to hear about the change in your major…I think it will be great. And you will conquer all things Chemistry!

  2. i never watched a lot of disney in my life.. actually as a kid i avoided watching disney movies!! i know, im a freak 😛 lol. but i DID love the lion king, i was smitten ever since ❤

  3. so for some reason, i thought hope was a lighter color.now onto entering your giveaway…favorite disney movie is anastasiahaha i know its not a disney movie so the real answer is beauty and the beast. 🙂

  4. I love using Fresh Express salads, they are perfect for taking to work. I like to start with the salad, then toss a little corn, avocado, some madarin orange slices and balsamic for a yummy lunch that is easy to pack. Some crumbled tortilla chips on top are great too 🙂 Of course, it makes a great dinner to munch on while watching 101 Dalmations, the best Disney movie ever!

Leave a Reply

