Food Buzz Fresh Express Recipe!

Here’s a quick morning post for ya! A quick salad recipe that doubles as an entry for the Foodbuzz Fresh Express contest!

Last night I used my handy dandy bag of Fresh Express Mixed Spring Greens to create a quick and delicious side salad for my leftover steak and twice baked potato (and blueberry bagel….).

It’s not as fancy as some Fresh Express entries (ie, Ashley’s at Edible Perspective – her’s is AWESOME), but it’s accessible and cheap for college kids like myself.

First, portion yourself a generous portion of salad mix. And can I just say how much I love the Spring Mix? The greens are colorful, tender, and have lovely shapes!

At this point, I would have added some sort of cheese, like blue (bleu?) or feta, but since I’m on a budget, I can’t afford fancy cheeses. Instead, I have Kraft Mexican blend.

That would not have made a pretty salad.

Next, add a generous amount of chopped black olives. Olives are delicious, and everyone should learn to like them.

Then add some halved purple grapes, because green ones are too sour. Plus the sweet grapes balance out the salty olives, and vice versa.

Finally, mix a teaspoon of olive oil, a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, a teaspoon of honey, and a pinch of salt and pepper and mix! This is your delicious salad dressing! It’s sweet, but slightly tart from the vinegar. It pairs perfectly with the sweet grapes, and again, balances out the salty olives. And the imaginary cheese. Thanks, Kath, for a yummy dressing!!


And don’t forget, ENTER MY FRESH EXPRESS GIVEAWAY!!! By midnight tonight!!

I just remembered that the Foodbuzz contest ended last night. I’m so forgetful. Sigh, at least you all have a delicious salad to try, if you so desire….

One thought on “Food Buzz Fresh Express Recipe!

Leave a Reply

