Even though the weather in Georgia is NOT fall-ish at all (yesterday was a beautiful, muggy day with overcast skies and 80 degree temperatures), I have still been enjoying the FOOD that comes with fall, like delicious canned pumpkin, butternut and acorn squash, pears, tailgate eats, etc. My favorite fall food (well, one of my favorites) is chili, and the white turkey chili I made last week was thick and chunky, and also contained two of my new favorite vegetables: butternut squash and kale.

I kind of combined Kath’s Butternut Squash and Kale Soup with Giada’s White Bean and Chicken Chili. One day I will make my own chili…or my own recipe for that matter, but right now, combining two recipes is creative enough for me. I don’t really know if I can call it something different….I’m a little paranoid about giving credit for recipes right now because we just talked about blog credibility in my Writing for the Web class yesterday.

Whatever.

White Bean Chili with Butternut Squash and Kale
combines Kath and Giada’s recipes…, serves 8

– 2 cans chicken broth
– 2 cans cannellini beans, drained
– 1 lb. ground turkey
– 1 onion, chopped
– 1 can hominy, drained
– 1/2 of a large butternut squash, chopped into bite sized cubes
– 1 bunch kale, torn into bite size pieces
– 1 tbsp oregano
– 2 tbsp cumin
– 1 tbsp chili powder
– 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
– dash of cayenne
– salt and pepper to taste
– 3 tablespoons flour

I made this into a crockpot chili – I’m a busy college student, after all. Plus the squash gets super tender and the chili flavors really meld together after hanging out in the crockpot all day.

The night before, brown your ground turkey, cut up your squash and onion, and lay out all of your canned ingredients and spices.

The next morning, dump the turkey, squash, onions, liquid, and spices into the crockpot and turn on low. I suppose you could add the flour to the pot at the beginning, but I let it cook for an hour, then ladled out some of the warm liquid into a cup and whisked in the flour, THEN added it back into the crock pot.

Before you serve the chili, rip up the kale leaves into bite sized pieces, then stuff them into the crock pot and stir so they start to wilt. Then eat!!

Unfortunately, I didn’t take a picture until after we ate, which meant no pretty squash to include in the picture. And it’s in a tupperware. And at this point, the kale had lost its vibrancy. It looked way more appealing than this, trust me.

I love good old-fashioned ground beef and kidney bean chili, but this chili is a nice change in flavors and colors. You still have the delicious, thick and chunky texture, but instead of deep red beans and brown meat, you get the gorgeous orange butternut squash and the deep green kale. I love how chewy the kale is – it gives an extra bite to the chili. Like all chili, this tastes lovely with a generous dollop of sour cream on top.

What’s your favorite fall meal?

6 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

