Well lookie here! I’ve emerged from my hermit hole only two days after my last post! I’ve done more cooking, reading (helloooo Harry Potter!), and baking over the past two days than I have since Thanksgiving!

It’s glooooorious! Just like this video…

I love this song and I love A Goofy Movie.

Anyways, I already have three recipes to share with you guys. Two are winners and the other one is, well, it needs a little work or something. Today’s post is one of the winners.

Yesterday I had a major baking itch and decided to utilize the plethora of nuts that have accumulated in our pantry. My victim? Almonds. I decided to make Almond Biscotti from the Joy of Baking, but decided to add some chocolate chips and instant coffee powder to jazz them up. It was a good decision. The chocolate chips gave the biscotti an extra dimension of flavor and gave them gorgeous specks of rich chocolate. I was a little disappointed that the coffee powder didn’t really come through, though. Next time I’ll add more than a teaspoon, but I guess the coffee is only there to enhance the chocolate flavor anyways.

The recipe is really easy, especially since it’s a traditional biscotti recipe, meaning there’s no butter or oil in them. I used to think biscotti were so hard only because they were baked twice, but now that I have Food Principles under my belt (I’m really obnoxious about that class, aren’t I?), I know another reason they’re hard and crunchy is because no fat = no tenderness. But the whole point of biscotti is to dip it into coffee/tea/milk and feel sophisticated while doing it, so it doesn’t really matter that they’re hard.

So here’s the recipe. And definitely don’t skip out on toasting the almonds – it really does give them a lot of flavor.

Almond Biscotti (with chocolate chips)
Courtesy of The Joy of Baking, makes 14-16 biscotti

1 cup whole almonds, toasted then chopped
– 1/2 cup chocolate chips
– 2 cups white AP flour
– 3/4 cup white sugar
– 3 eggs
– 1/8 tsp salt
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 tsp almond extract (I didn’t have any, so obviously I omitted this)
1 tsp instant coffee powder (I didn’t taste it – try 1 tbsp?)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and toast your almonds for 8 to 10 minutes, or until they start to smell delicious and fragrant.

Reduce the oven temperature to 300 degrees. In a bowl (obviously) beat the eggs and extracts together.

In another bowl (stand up mixers are heavenly!), mix the sugar, flour, salt, coffee granules, and baking powder together until combined. Then slowly add the egg mixture. After adding in half of the egg mixture, start pouring the almonds and chocolate chips into the mix as well. Make sure everything is incorporated, but don’t over mix!

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or grease it very lightly with cooking spray. Plop the dough onto the baking sheet and pat (not roll) into a 12-14 inch long, 3/4 of an inch wide log. That’s what The Joy of Baking said to do, but I thought it was weird to make the log that skinny, so I patted it into a two inch(ish) wide log and called it a day. The dough didn’t spread that much and my biscotti still looked like, well, biscotti. Let the log bake for 30-40 minutes, or until it’s firm to the touch.

After baking the log, let it cool for at least ten minutes on a wire cookie rack. Once it’s cool, use a sharp knife to cut the log into 16 1/2-1 inch biscotti. The Joy of Baking said I would get 28 biscotti out of the log, but I only got 16. Oh well. Anyways, place the biscotti back on the cookie sheet and bake for ten more minutes on one side, then flip and bake the other side for another ten minutes. Let them cool, then chow down! Just a side note: the biscotti were softer (not overly soft, just not quite as crunchy) the second day.

Yay baking! I’ll share my other two recipes on my next post! In the meantime, go watch A Goofy Movie. Seriously. It’s one of the most under-appreciated Disney movies.

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

