And just like that, Christmas was over. Five days ago. All of the decorations are boxed up for another year (sadness), our tree has been dismantled and thrown into the compost pile (after standing alone in a de-decorated living room for two days), and the only Christmas leftovers that remain are a few dried out pecan sandies that no one seems to like (I guess I know what not to make next year…).

Obviously I’m a little sad about Christmas being over. It’s a hard time for me, which is why I haven’t updated in a week. I needed time to let my soul recover from the swift transition from “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” to “OH MY GOD I HAVE TO PAY $1000 DOLLARS FOR TEXT BOOKS THIS SEMESTER!@$!@$!@#%#@^% (although after further inspection, I discovered that my textbook bill will most likely be significantly less, thank goodness).”

It’s okay, though. Christmas is special because it only happens two months out of the year (let’s face it, while Thanksgiving is totally awesome, I am completely in Christmas mode after Halloween is over). I ate my Christmas eve lasagna, my Christmas morning Krispy Kreme doughnut, my Christmas evening Yorkshire pudding and my day after Christmas clam chowder (don’t ask, it’s a weird tradition). I also have many awesome memories and great gifts to help ease my pain. I received seven (yes, seven) cookbooks, two jars of peanut/almond butter, three kitchen gadgets, a stick blender and a stone cookie sheet.

I have officially pigeon-holed myself into a specific gift category. If you can’t think of something to get me, just toss me the latest kitchen gadget or a cookbook and everything will be hunky dory! Seriously though, I loved all seven of my wonderful cookbooks and everything else I received (thanks family and friends).

And now that Christmas is over, here is a transitional recipe to help you move from rich, yummy Christmas food to easy, every day eating once again (this probably does not qualify as a lame New Year’s weight loss recipe, though…whoops!).


PW’s BBQ Meatballs

Serves 4

For the meatballs:

– 1 lb ground beef
– 3/4 cups oats (I whirled mine through the mini food processor – I knew my mom and Lara wouldn’t appreciate rolled oats in their meat)
– 1 cup milk
– 3 tbsp finely minced onion (I used dried minced onion)
– Salt and pepper

Cooking the meatballs:

– All purpose flour (enough to lightly coat all of the meatballs)
– 2ish tbsp canola oil

For the sauce:

– 1 cup ketchup
– 2 tbsp sugar
– 3 tbsp vinegar
– 2 tbsp Worcestershire
– 4 tbsp minced onion (again, I used dried minced onion)
– 2ish drops hot sauce

Begin by sending the oats through a food processor just to make them smaller and less detectable. Next, combine the oats with the milk, salt, pepper and onion. Add the meat then mix until combined (don’t over mix, though, or the meat will become tough). Form the meat into small (1-1.5 inch meatballs) and place on a sheet pan in the freezer for five to ten minutes. This will help the meatballs stay together when you brown them.

While the meatballs are cooling, mix all of the sauce ingredients into a small bowl. The sauce is REALLY tasty, but I thought it tasted more like a typical meatloaf sauce and not really BBQ-ish. Perhaps I should have added some brown sugar?

Anyways, heat up the oil in a large, non-stick frying pan on medium heat. Pour some flour into a shallow bowl, then roll the meatballs in the flour to lightly coat them. Place them into the pan and brown each side (don’t worry about cooking them through, though). Once all of the meatballs are browned, place them in a large (9×13) baking dish and spoon some of the sauce over each meatball.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. I served these with homemade mashed potatoes and baked beans and they were oh so good! They were flavorful and tender thanks to the sauce, which like I said above, was more like a meatloaf sauce. These meatballs were actually more like meatloaf balls, now that I think about it… Either way, they were actually kind of fun to make and really easy. Everyone in my family liked them and I think you could change up the sauce recipe to make Asian meatballs, Southwestern meatballs, Italian meatballs, etc.

See ya in 2011!

PS – Jen, I made Oatmeal Raisin, Flourless Peanut Butter and Chocolate chip, Pecan Sandies and Snickerdoodles. The Flourless PB and Chocolate chip cookies were really easy and tasty, but I think you should try making PW’s Rum Cake. My aunt made it for Christmas and it was amazing!

7 thoughts on “

  1. Isn't it crazy? The holidays are just… over. I spent so much time traveling during the two week before Christmas that the 25th seemed to just speed by without notice. So sad 😦

  2. These sound delicious! I love PW! I still have my Christmas tree up, as I was always told that it was bad luck to take it down til after the first of the year! But it's crazy how fast it flew by!

  3. I love all your christmas tradition. makes me kinda wanna cry all over again that christmas is over. we needs to move to whoville!also a twitter cookbook!??! i'm dying! you'll definitely have to post cooking adventures from that book!

Leave a Reply

