Epic Meal Time: Four Loko Chili – LOL! (Do not watch if you find meat consumption disgusting) I love this series of YouTube videos – the main guy is absolutely hilarious!

I do not condone the consumption of the alcoholic chemical called Four Loko, but that video is pretty funny. All of their videos are, actually. They’re like the live version of This is Why You’re Fat.

Goooooood times.

Anyways, I have another week of school under my belt, with a Monday of “wintery mix” on the horizon. My classes for the most part are interesting. I can’t wait to start working in my assigned dining hall for lab, even if I have to be there at 7 AM. I also really love my Food and the Consumer class – some say it’s boring, but I think all of the food legislation and food label history is sort of fascinating. We learned that the DV percentages on food labels are actually wrong – they are based on RDA’s made in the 70’s!!!! Take sodium, for instance. In the 70’s, you supposedly needed 2400 mg of sodium a day, which makes the %DV on labels lower than they should be, since now we know that you really don’t need more than 1500 mg! Call me dumb, but I had no idea!

NERD ALERT!

In other news, I made some truly tasty turkey hummus burgers for my roommate dinner last week. The hummus (I used roasted red pepper) made the burgers really tender and gave them TONS of flavor. Food Network Magazine recommended serving the burgers in mini pitas (which I found at Trader Joe’s), along with a tasty cucumber feta topping, which was creamy, crisp and tart all at the same time. It was quite the Mediterranean meal! With all of the different hummus flavors out there, you could easily change the flavor of your burgers each time you make them (because you’ll definitely want to make them more than once!).

Turkey-Hummus Sliders
By Miriam Garron, Food Network Magazine, serves 5-6

– 1.5 lb ground turkey breast (I used 1 lb)
– 1 cup hummus (I used about 3/4 a cup)
– 1 English cucumber, diced
– 1 tbsp olive oil, plus more for the skillet
– 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
– 1/2 cup dried feta cheese
– 1 tsp dried mint
– 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley (didn’t use)
– 2 tsp ground coriander
– mini pita pockets
– 2-3 plum tomatoes

Dice up the cucumber, then mix it with the feta, mint, olive oil, red wine vinegar and some salt and pepper. Cover it, then refrigerate.

Next, mix the ground turkey with 1/3 cup hummus, coriander and some salt and pepper. I put it in the fridge for a half an hour to make it easier to handle, but if you don’t have time, just wet your hands with some water, then form either 5 or 6 regular sized patties, or 12ish sliders, which is how they’re served in FN magazine. Heat 1-2 tbsp of olive oil in a skillet, then cook the patties for 4-5 minutes on each side until cooked through and crusty.

Cut the pita pockets open about 3/4 of the way, then add a few tomato slices, a burger, some of the cucumber feta mixture and more hummus. Red onion slices would have been nice as well – I thought about caramelizing some for a topping, but I didn’t have enough time.

Serve with sweet potato fries. Or regular fries. Or parsnip fries, which apparently are a hit amongst a lot of food bloggers.

Another fun fact: I made the burgers in my cast iron skillet, which I FINALLY seasoned last weekend. Sad fact: The burgers left charred bits on the bottom, so instead of looking up the proper way to clean a CI skillet, I just went ahead and scrubbed the skillet with an unsoapy soft sponge, which took off some of the oil layer I made last weekend. I’m not sure why I did this – I know you aren’t supposed to scrub CI skillets with anything.

So, anyone want to give me some tips for cleaning burnt food off of a cast iron skillet??

I also made a fun, easy dessert/snack bar this week to take to work this past week. Alexi actually made them first after reading a similar recipe in Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine. All you do is melt some white chocolate, then stir in some kind of flaky cereal along with dried fruit! Alexi just did Uncle Sam’s (essentially fiber flakes) with the chocolate, but I wanted to add some color and tart flavor so I added in some dried cranberries as well (cranberries and white chocolate are a more heavenly combo than bacon and Four Loko….just sayin’, Epic Meal Guy). I stuck with the Uncle Sam’s cereal because it was one of those times where it’s easy to make a dessert more nutritious without compromising the flavor – you don’t want the cereal to overpower the white chocolate or the cranberries, so choose something kind of plain (Uncle Sam’s is about as plain as it gets – it tastes like card board alone), so why not pick something a little healthier than corn flakes?

And there you have it – a tasty dessert that keeps you regular!

On one last note, I’m sure many of you have heard about the new Lara Bar flavor that’s hit the blogging market recently, right? You know, BLUEBERRY MUFFIN?!

Well, Lara Bar was nice enough to send me a few bars to try (I didn’t even ask!) and review. I am a huge fan of Lara Bars and this new flavor did not disappoint; I have long felt that they were missing some kind of blueberry flavor from their extensive repertoire of bar flavors, so I was excited to try it. The bar is slightly sweet with a natural, yummy tasting blueberry flavor. I loved that they used a mild flavored nut like cashews to let the blueberry flavor shine through. While it doesn’t beat my favorite flavor (PB&J), it has definitely given Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough a run for its money!

Next up: Athens restaurant review!

6 thoughts on “

  1. I have JUST started getting into larabars… I mean, I tried them before but wished they had more protein and such, but now i just love how unprocessed they are… plus they're delicious ;)i love the peanut butter chocolate chip cookie dough one! πŸ™‚ Jealous that you got free samples… I need to befriend those larabar people πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

