Psssst. It’s spring break! That means no school, which means that I have ample time to do all of my spring break homework (there is no rest for the weary when it comes to Chemistry) AND write a few blog posts! I also seem to be the only person from UGA not going somewhere cool over break, like Shelley, who is going to New York, or Kayla, who is going to HARRY POTTER WORLD (I ooze jealousy), which means I have no excuse to not update! I’ve missed updating SO much (I’ve also missed receiving notifications about new comments in my inbox…), but as I’ve said before, this semester is CRAZY! But honestly, even though the craziness makes me emotionally unstable sometimes, it’s all worth it – I want to be an RD THAT badly! At the start of the semester, Chemistry and Precal were totally kicking my butt, but this past week, I OWNED quantum numbers and logarithms, so hopefully Chemistry, Precal and I can come to some sort of mutual understanding for the rest of the semester.

It would just be better that way.

My food classes, on the other hand, are going swimmingly! In my Quantity Foods lab I’ve flipped burgers during the night shift, which reminded me of my days back at Bruster’s during the summer evening slams (8 to 10 o’clock every night!), except instead of cringing at people ordering Cotton Candy Explosion and Pistachio ice cream, I was cringing at people ordering grilled chicken and American cheese sandwiches. I mean, come on – grilled chicken and cheese? Ew. I’ve also worked in the baking area (kind of boring since most of it is frozen, although it was cool to see the big stand up mixer in action) and the salad bar (I’m craving tuna salad now). My Food and the Consumer class has been VERY informative and totally interesting – it’s one of my favorite classes that I’ve taken at UGA! I’ll probably dedicate another post to some of the stuff we’ve learned, but here’s a teaser: do you think high fructose corn syrup is “less healthy” than brown rice syrup?

How’s that for dinner conversation?

Anyways, I’ve saved up a delicious, fun recipe to share with everyone for my triumphant return to the blogosphere: Greek Nachos! A few weeks ago we had a nacho party at our apartment for the Oscars – why nachos, you ask? I loved the juxtaposition between the polished, fancy Oscars and the humble, lax feeling of nachos. What can I say, my inner English major was leaking.

I’m just kidding. I was actually just craving nachos like crazy and decided that nachos would be fun to eat while watching the Oscars. And indeed it was fun! Although there was somewhat of a shortage of nachos (only Shelley and I made some), it was still really fun! Shelley made buffalo chicken nachos, while I made Greek nachos, as found in those handy little “50 ways…” booklets that come in every Food Network Magazine. They were super easy to make, didn’t need to bake, and were completely gobbled up during the second half of the Oscars! A warning: these measurements are very loose – it’s easy to alter depending on the number of people you have.

Greek Nachos
serves a crowd of hungry movie buffs

– pita chips, scoop tortilla chips, regular tortilla chips
– 1 container of your favorite hummus (I used roasted red pepper)
– 1 red onion, diced
– 1 container feta cheese
– sliced black olives
– oregano
– 1-2 tomatoes, diced
– tzatziki sauce: 1 peeled and seeded cucumber, diced; 1 6 oz container plain Greek yogurt; 2 cloves garlic, minced; 1-2 tsp lemon juice; 1 tbsp olive oil – mix all of it together!

Lay out your tortilla/pita chips on a platter. Spoon a teaspoon or two of tzatziki sauce onto each chip, then sprinkle the onions, olives, tomatoes and feta onto each chip. Top the nachos with a teaspoon of hummus and a sprinkle of oregano. Now you’re eating Greek!

These nachos are colorful (purple onions, orange feta, red tomatoes, black olives!), taste fresh and are packed with flavor. At least, that’s what everyone at the Oscar party said, but I wholeheartedly agree. I used tortilla scoops instead of pita chips, which probably ended up being the better – they held the tomatoes, olives, onions, etc. perfectly during the transition from platter to mouth.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

