Sunflower Butter – have you tried it? If not, get your booty to Trader Joe’s or some other fancy schmancy grocery store (I actually think Kroger has it in their “natural” section) and get some for yourself! It tastes like sunflower seeds, but not at all raw tasting like I thought it would. It’s sweet, but has a slight smokey aftertaste to it. Plus, it’s totally drippy, perfect for drizzling over, oh, I don’t know, ANYTHING! So now, once again, I have two (or three) too many jars of peanut/almond/sunflower seed butter in my life.

Four jars is a little excessive, right? Nah, didn’t think so either.

Anyways, I hope everyone enjoyed my guest post on Chelsey’s blog. It felt nice to write/type that “journey,” although I realized after reading it (and seeing some grammatical/syntax errors – *shudder*) that I never really explained what I want to do as an RD. Honestly, I’d love to do anything in the nutrition field (in regards to interacting with people – I definitely don’t want to do research or the like), but specifically I’d love to work with college students at a college health center. I feel like so many students get the wrong idea about nutrition and healthy living – many live in a world of partying, yo-yo dieting, eating disorders, protein powder, excessive exercise, overeating, etc. and I’d love to help them sort through all of that and find balance. So yeah, that’s what I’m working towards, specifically!

And thank you to everyone who has left me a comment or who left a comment on Chelsey’s site…or even just reading the post and/or visiting my site!

Anywho, these past couple of weeks have been somewhat boring on the food front, but one night last night I decided to break out of my “slapped together” food rut and fix something new for a change. I let schoolwork get in between me and the hobbies I love WAY too often – it’s a drag. But yeah, I ended up making chickpea burgers with cilantro hummus! And let me tell you, it was a glorious revival for my tastebuds after eating Morning Star veggie burgers, frozen salmon filets and tortilla pizzas for a week. I even got to use my “new” food processor (thanks, Grandmommie!). That machine is a lifesaver! It made the cooking process (and the cleaning process) a snap! I think I pureed the chickpea mixture a little too much, though – there were no chickpea chunks in the burger, which I kind of missed.

I also used the food processor to make my pesto! I made it off the top of my head, but with Kath’s recipe in mind.

Cilantro Pesto
makes 6 tbsp servings (I think…obviously I don’t pay attention to this kind of stuff…)

– 1 bunch cilantro leaves (I cut off the stems)
– 2-3 cloves of garlic, depending on how much you like
– pinch of kosher salt
– 2-3 tbsp olive oil
– 1-2 tsp lemon juice
– small handful of walnuts

If you have a food processor (it’s aaaamazing!), just dump all of your ingredients in that handy machine and let ‘er rip until it’s nice and smooth! Add more oil/lemon juice if needed. Obviously I kind of eye balled everything, whoops. The cilantro flavor was present, but not overbearing like it can be on it’s own. The garlic and salt really balanced out the flavors, while the walnuts made it hearty! However, the best part is the vibrant green color! It was a nice contrast to the cream colored chickpea burgers.


Excuse the poor quality picture. I didn’t have any buns/pita bread, so I made do with a tortilla folded in half. I also topped it with plain yogurt, which was excellent with the pesto.

So, moral of the story: if you’re in a food rut, try out the pesto and these burgers!

8 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Sara,Four jars is totally reasonable. Of course, since I blog for SunButter sunflower spread, I have a little different frame of reference. By the way, EXCELLENT pesto recipe that I can wait to try. Thanks for the great post. I'm really enjoying following your adventures.

  2. Great minds think alike because I just found my recipe folder (I moved yday) and my chickpea burger recipe! I usually use a little Chipotle Maynonaise but pesto would be awesome as well! Have a great day 🙂

  3. i made my own sunflower butter and it definitely wasn't drippy… i'll have to buy some!!i looove any kind of pesto… your chickpea wrap look so good!!

Leave a Reply

