How is it already April?! Geeze, it seems like the older you get, the faster time flies…and I’m only 20!!! AHH! Anyways, at least summer is almost here, even though I have to take two classes this summer (Chem 2 and Biology – ew). I signed up for my classes this week – next semester won’t be quite as interesting as this semester, but it’s all leading up to the cool classes I’ll take as a (fifth year) senior, so I’ll take it! Next fall I will be taking Food Sanitation and Safety, Organic Chemistry (EEEK!), Food Service Procurement and Financial Management, and Food and Nutrition Education Methods. It’s actually not that many hours, but my schedule is so out of whack with my missing science prerequisites that I’m really taking all that I can! I also signed up for my practicum (AKA internship) for summer 2012 – yes, I signed up a year in advance. I’m pretty sure the coordinator thought I was a weirdo, but it’s first come first serve and apparently it’s crucial to have clinical experience before applying to the big ADA internship after graduation, so I wanted to make sure to get a spot in a hospital!

Anyways, it was a big week in my Quantity Foods lab! This past week we had a fun activity to wind down from our stint in the dining halls – garnishing! We had an hour to use any vegetable or fruit in the lab kitchen to create a garnish to be judged by my professor’s two sons. My lab partner and I ended up making an “Under the Sea” type deal, complete with banana octopi, tomato and kale fish, a pineapple turtle and a pineapple Spongebob!

I was really surprised by the creativity oozing out of me at 7:30 AM – I suppose it finally exploded out of some unknown orifice in the right side of my brain after being stifled by chemistry and math for so long.

So anyways, we’ll find out the winner of that little contest next week. In two weeks we’ll have our practical, or “The Big Event,” which is my professor’s euphemism of choice. Basically my entire lab (2o girls and like, 2 guys) have to put together a themed breakfast for all of the big-wigs in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences. We chose Halloween in April as our theme (Disney was a close second), complete with Scrambled Brains (eggs), Hags Hash (hashbrowns), O+ (punch), Ghost Toast (Ghost shaped French toast), Sausage Fingers, Mummy Wraps (bacon), Witch’s Brew (coffee) and Eyeball Salad (fruit salad made up of melon-balled watermelon, cantaloupe, blueberries and grapes). We also decided to make trick or treat bags for the guests to have as the leave, but instead of candy, we’re going to put cake pops inside of the bags!
Cake Pops: Baked cake that has been crumbled and mixed with frosting, then rolled into balls and dipped into candy coating.

Who comes up with this stuff?

Anyways, someone had to volunteer to test out the process of cake pop making to see how feasible it would be to make for “The Big Event,” so of course I volunteered – after all, the ingredients were free! Shelley and I made them yesterday afternoon, and while it was a little time consuming, the steps were a breeze! All you do is bake a cake (box mix is fine – I was given Butter Pecan cake mix), then let it cool completely. After the cake cools, crumble it, then mix in 3/4 a can of icing and roll the cake into 1.5 inch balls. Stick the balls into the freezer for 15 minutes and melt candy coating in the microwave. Once the cake balls have set, dip the tips of the sucker sticks into the candy coating, then poke the sticks into the cake balls. Dip the cake balls into the candy coating, then put the cake pop cake-side down onto parchment paper (alternatively, you could stick the sucker stick into a styrofoam block so the cake pop stays round). The candy coating hardens on its own, so leave them in at room temperature!

The cake pops tasted amazing (of course), but my favorite part was the texture contrast between the coating and the soft, cakey inside! The candy coating wasn’t crunchy, but it definitely had a firm shell that was fun to bite into before tasting the creamy cake/frosting concoction inside! I’m pretty sure that I’m going to make red velvet cake pops for Lara’s graduation party since the red cake and the dark, dark chocolate shell will match her college’s colors…since she’s going to UGA!!!!!!! I’m so excited, mainly because we’ll have the same breaks, but I’m also so proud of her for taking the first step towards achieving her dream of working for the likes of Square Enix or Disney!

5 thoughts on “

  1. Love your blog! Good luck with your internship. That's awesome that you've already got a jump on it! Cake on a stick? yes please!

  2. I loved this post! I really like seeing all of the things you are making in your classes, especially those cake pops…um yum!? I took organic chem last semester and it was ROUGH but that I didn't apply myself as much as I should have. To me, the material was so absurdly boring that I almost did not care to learn about it. I almost didn't pass but squeezed by with a C! Not the greatest grade of course, but i'll take it for that dang class šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

