I SURVIVED! Yes indeedy, I made it through this monster of a semester! It’s not quite over as I have yet to see my grades for half of my classes, but that’s beside the point…summer is here!

Yeah, yeah, I have to take two classes in June and July, but hopefully they’ll be significantly less time consuming than my classes this past semester.

ANYWAYS, enough school talk because something way more important happened since the last time I posted – I turned 21! Now I can legally enjoy my crazy nights watching movies with Lara and staying up until 11.

I party hard, ya’ll.

Sarcasm aside, I did go to Walker’s in Athens with Adam and Kathy to have a beer, a Left Hand Milk Stout to be precise. I don’t know fancy things about beer, but it was dark. And it wasn’t half bad, although if I had to choose I’d probably still pick a glass of milk or a sweet tea. Anyways, it was slightly thrilling to show the bartender my ID; I probably looked like an giddy idiot, like most just-turned-21 year olds.

I also used my legality to buy my mom a six pack of beer for Mother’s Day, just because I could. Nothing says Mother’s Day like 55 calorie Bud Light.

Speaking of beer, tonight I decided to break out of my pesto + tuna quesadilla rut and make a notorious bar dish dinner – nachos! I decided to get a little creative (ie I had no chicken or beef) and decided to make buffalo salmon nachos! I’m sure some of you are wrinkling your nose in disgust, but it was actually really good! Lots of delicious buffalo flavor along with creamy black beans, salty olives and gooey pepperjack/mozzarella cheese!

Buffalo Salmon Nachos
Serves 2

– 1 can of salmon
– 20-30 tortilla chips, depending on your appetite (I was hungry and couldn’t even finish 15!)
– 3 tbsp buffalo sauce
– 1 tbsp white vinegar
– 2 tsp Ranch dressing mix
– 1/3 cup black olives
– 1/3 cup black beans
– 1/4 cup grated pepperjack cheese
– 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Place a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Arrange the chips on the parchment paper so that they overlap slightly. Scatter the olives and black beans on the chips. In a separate bowl, mix together the salmon, buffalo sauce and the white vinegar (I don’t know why I added the white vinegar to be honest, but it didn’t hurt anything). Distribute the salmon in small chunks over all of the chips, then sprinkle the two cheeses over the top.

Put the nachos in the oven for 10-15 minutes, then broil the nachos until the cheese browns slightly.

Try it and tell me it’s not good – after all, who can resist buffalo sauce AND nachos – just think, with these you’re getting fiber from the beans and some omega-3’s from the salmon!

Also, has anyone read The Hunger Games trilogy? I just finished the last one today and I’m not sure how I feel about them….the plot was good, but Katniss was a little too self-loathing for me and I couldn’t help but think of the Bella/Edward/Jacob triangle when reading about Katniss/Peeta/Gale, although Katniss and Peeta are MUCH more believable (and less corny) characters than Edward and Bella (barf).

4 thoughts on “

  1. Hooray for summer! Your nachos look AWESOME. I agree with what you said in your comment about intuitive eating being a lifelong process. And intuitive exercising is a whole different ballgame! (hehe- that was kinda sorta a pun) =P

  2. I'm glad you're back!! I've heard good things about the Hunger Games but I suppose I'll have to read them for myself. I love the idea of nacho type things but it is so scary to me!! I'll have to try it someday.

Leave a Reply

