On Friday night, my little sister graduated from high school.

I feel so old….imagine how my mom must feel! I kid!

I saw at least half of the people I graduated with three years ago (THREE YEARS?!), as well as some teachers I had seven or eight years ago! So weird.

Anyways, with graduation comes graduation parties, which also means FOOD! My mom decided on a sandwich bar with an assortment of side dishes and desserts. Unfortunately I didn’t get to make much, only cake pops and boxed brownies. I was hoping Lara would let me make red velvet cake pops, with her going to UGA and all, but she insisted on funfetti. My dad made his delicious salsa, which he does not add garlic to, which made me decide never to add garlic to my salsa/pico de gallo again. Raw garlic = bad breath for days. We also had some seven layer dip and an assortment of other foods (like an awesome fruit bowl – watermelon, strawberries, grapes and cantaloupe – hellooo summer!). My favorite part of the party was seeing all of my family in one place; I know that probably sounds incredibly corny, but it’s not very often that I get to see relatives from my mom’s side and my dad’s at the same time! I love hanging out and catching up with everyone, especially while eating good food. I also love hunkering down with my almost-cousin (not technically my cousin, but might as well be) and my sister to play Mario Kart, Super Smash Brothers, Mario Tennis and Kirby Air Ride on the Gamecube for a couple of hours.

I guess you could call this week family dinners week because I had another fun, family-esque dinner on Tuesday night with Kathy, Chris and Adam. Instead of going out to eat like we usually do, we decided to cook jambalaya (along with roasted okra and corn) at Chris’s house! It was really fun to go grocery shopping together then cook our meal together as well, but the best part was sitting around Chris’s table to eat…it totally felt like a real family meal! I don’t really have any recipes since we took a pretty fat shortcut by buying Zataran’s rice mix and just adding sausage, although I’m happy to report that I turned Chris, Adam and Kathy onto the joys of roasted okra!


Sorry for the poor picture quality, it’s a phone picture!

That’s about all I have going on right now! Sorry for the lack of interesting posts lately – I’m really trying to enjoy my month off while I can. I’m super excited to be home for the entire week, but maybe I’ll make something interesting? Anyways, I hope everyone is enjoying their summer as well!

PS – If you’re a fan of Jane Eyre, you should totally check out the movie! It was definitely better than I thought it would be, probably almost as good of an adaptation as Joe Wright’s Pride and Prejudice!

3 thoughts on “

  1. haha i just posted about my sister's graduation today too! it was very weird for me to see people i havent seen in SOOO long… some good encounters, some very awkward encounters… we also had a TON of food to celebrate =)

  2. Congratulations to your sister! I do understand about feeling "old" though! I have one more year left of college and cannot believe how time has gone by so fast…it's a bit scary that's for sure!And thank you for the review on the movie. I have been reluctant to see it after enjoying the book so much but now I shall 🙂

Leave a Reply

