I know everyone who is connected to me on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr or in person is sick to death of hearing me (and everyone else) talk about Harry Potter, but after not writing on this blog for almost 2 months, I finally have some writing inspiration, so I’m going to go with it….even if it is Harry Potter.

For 13 years, or since I was 8, I have always been subconsciously waiting for either a Harry Potter book or movie. When the books came to an end, of course I was sad (I had that melodramatic, terrible empty feeling when I finished book 7 – like I had no purpose in life or something…I know), but I had no idea what was coming next, so I was more excited to read them instead of feeling sad for the end. After watching the last movie this morning, I feel that same sense of emptiness, but there’s also a sense of finality. Except for Harry Potter World and Pottermore, there is nothing left. Seeing the end on the screen was, well, kind of heartbreaking. I cried like a baby. Not just at the end, but throughout the entire movie (Alan Rickman, you slay me). I knew how the movie would end, and of course I was excited to see how it would be represented on the screen, but I had such a bittersweet feeling going into that movie and I’ve been in a weird funk all day (“Leaving Hogwarts” has been on repeat in my head ALL DAY. Playing the same ending song from the first movie at the end of the last one was an excellent and tear inducing decision).
I know it sounds stupid, but Harry Potter is THE thing of my childhood. I know there is much more to myself than my love of Harry Potter, but being a HP fan will always be one of the many ways I define myself. I will always remember rereading the books every Christmas break and summer break (yeah, I’ve lost count), I will always remember the anticipation of waiting in line at a bookstore to buy the latest book and trying to keep myself from reading it too quickly, I will always remember “Hedwig’s Theme,” I will always remember being SO excited to see the first movie with my friend, Grace. I remember when I received the first Harry Potter book – my grandparents gave it to me at a county swim meet. Honestly, it took me a few tries to get through it, but once I did, I was hooked. My parents/grandparents gave me the next two books for Christmas, then I bought the LAST copy in Borders of the fourth book before reading the entire thing during a car ride to Florida. I remember my sister and I each buying our own copy of the fifth book; I remember trying so hard not to read more than one chapter of the sixth book on the way home from the mall. I remember feeling weepy in the checkout line as I read the scar-shaped book dedication in the seventh book.
Harry Potter is something I want to pass on to my kids (if I ever have any). On the surface, Harry Potter may be about wizards and magic, but underneath, there are SO many universal themes that, in my opinion, make the books and movies timeless. Again, I know they’re just books and movies, but they have such a special place in my heart and it’s amazing that so many people feel the same way. I can’t think of any other book series that has such a dedicated following. I am so glad that I am a part of the Harry Potter generation and I am forever grateful that Grandmommie and Pop Pop gave me the book with the funny looking wizard on the cover that summer 13 years ago.
Mischief managed.
2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

